Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: ‘In One Piece’

Welcome to the final visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors of 2016(or the first of 2017, I suppose, if you visit tomorrow). I hope everyone who celebrates had a wonder Christmas last weekend. Ours was pretty good, if busy. Now, I’m ready to share the last snippet of this scene from Dance with the Devil. Last week, we left Hawk agreeing not to call an ambulance and helping Devil with his helmet. Picking right up after that, here’s the last 9 sentences from the scene:

“It’s not gonna be a smooth ride, but I’ll get you back as fast as I can. Just hold on to me, Damon,” he said, his voice cracking. “Don’t let go. Please don’t let go of me.”

I knew he didn’t just mean on this ride, but I still said, “Won’t. Promise.”

Then, he was taking off, and I had to put all my focus on keeping my arms around his waist and staying conscious even as agony wracked my body. As long as I made it back to the clubhouse in one piece. That was all that mattered.

Are they going to get back? Is Devil going to be okay? Will he hold on? I’ll have more next weekend. 🙂

Comments on: "WeWriWa: ‘In One Piece’" (7)

  1. angelicadawson said:

    High stakes, great tension. I definitely want to read more!

  2. Big hopes for the good guys. Nicely done. I felt the passion and need. Happy New Year!

  3. Wow, hard to ride the motorcycle in the condition he’s in ! Painful…really vivid snippet…best wishes for a Happy New Year!

  4. Holding on isn’t going to be as easy as Hawk may think.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

