Home of a mother, wife, writer

Christmas morning

Christmas morning

I hope everyone who celebrates had a wonderful Christmas. Ours was pretty good, though busy. Our celebrations stretched from Saturday through Monday. It can get complicated when we both come from split families. But, we celebrated with my dad earlier in the month. We spent Christmas Eve with my husband’s mom, Christmas day with my mom and sisters, and Monday we went to his stepmom’s for our Christmas with her and his siblings. it’s a lot easier than when we tried to cram everything into one day. The kids got quite a few new toys, some new clothes, and I got a new ceramic skillet, sweatshirt, and slippers. And a couple books, too. Plus gift cards. 🙂

He had this destroyed in about 20 minutes

He had this destroyed in about 20 minutes

I wasn’t going to do any more plotting(or editing) this month. Taking it easy until the new year. Hahaha. I should know better. I had a character pop up and tell me his story needs to be told NOW. Usually Jeremiah is more patient and laidback than this. But, ok. It’s not too often I have a character wake me up in the middle of the night and not let me get back to sleep. When it does happen, I figure I better get scribbling. So, I already have the brainstorming and almost 2 pages of Jeremiah’s back story written for Playing with Fire which will be the first book in my Riley family series(which is another spin-off from my Flames series). I was going to work on the last book in the Hunter family series(the other Flames spin-off) first, but it looks like that one might wait a little longer.

Christmas at my mom's

Christmas at my mom’s

And it’s Wednesday, which means it’s WiPPet time!! I’m a little behind where I’d hoped to be writing-wise. It took me 2 days to meet my goal on In the Moonlight. But, I’m nearly there for Crash and Burn, but I haven’t started Defending the Heart yet. So, I’ll have a snippet from Crash and Burn for you this week. I’ll even let you meet Jeremiah in this snippet. I have 12 paragraphs for the last WiPPet post of December.

“What are you doing out here?” he demanded.
“I needed some air,” she explained. “I was just about to go back in.”
“So you stand right out in the open? When there’s already somebody following you? I didn’t take you for being stupid.”
Anger washed through her, leaving her cold, her skin prickling with it. “Don’t ever call me stupid, Brann Magaldi.  And you can take your overbearing, overprotective, possessive caveman attitude and shove it…” She saw faces nearly pressed against the glass and dropped the rest of what she was going to say. They really didn’t need an audience for this. “You know what, I just want to go home. I can’t do this right now.”
Brann opened his mouth, but the door had slid open and Jeremiah stood there. “I’ll take you, Jaya,” he said. “Corrin and I were about to head that way anyway.”
Brann’s glare shot to the younger man in the doorway. “You don’t need to be stepping in here. and just what is up with you and my cousin?”
“We’re friends,” he answered, but Jaya–and she was sure Brann, too–saw the slight blush that colored his cheeks, and she was sure there was more to it than that. “She’s staying with me while she gets back on her feet.”
“Didn’t realize she was off them,” Brann muttered.
Jeremiah’s flush darkened even more, like he’d realized he’d let slip something he wasn’t supposed to. “She just told her parents this weekend. I figured the whole family would know by now. It’ll be taken care of, but she’s taking a break from school right now. That’s all I’ll say.”
Jaya couldn’t help smiling at the young man. He definitely had the whole loyalty thing down to a science. Brann didn’t look appeased–or amused–though.
“I’ll take Jaya home. We need to talk.”
“No, we don’t,” she said, ignoring the fact everyone inside could hear them now. Hell, they’d probably been able to hear through the closed door. “I told you already. I don’t need you acting as a damn shield. We don’t even know anyone is after me. Or that it has anything to do with whatever’s going on with you.” He cast a quick glance over his shoulder toward the house at that. Apparently his family didn’t know about that, then. Well, they would now. “I told you, Brann. I deal with it from my brothers. I won’t put up with it from the man I’m sleeping with.”

Are they going to talk about this(eventually)? Is she going to go with Jeremiah? What is going on with Jeremiah and Corrin? Well, we may not find that out until I start writing Playing with Fire.

  • Write: 5000 words – 2133 words so far. Finished my weekly goal(1000 words) on In the Moonlight and Crash and Burn. And just starting on Defending the Heart.
  • Side Projects: Add 2000 words – 66 words. May not make much progress on these this week.
  • Listen: Finish Winter & Stars Above – I finished Winter(loved) and started Stars Above yesterday.
  • Read: Finish Assassin’s Heart(Sarah Ahiers), Kiss Me Like This(Bella Andre), Whiskey Tango Foxtrot(Liliana Hart), Labyrinth Lost(Zoraida Cordova), The Seduction Hypothesis(Delphine Dryden), Cutting Edge(Allison Brennan), He’s So Fine(Jill Shalvis), The Hawk(Monica McCarty), & Law Man(Kristen Ashley) – I ended up setting Assassin’s Heart aside. It wasn’t bad, just not pulling me in. I don’t think it was what I was in the mood for at the moment. I did finish Kiss Me Like This(really enjoyed) and Whiskey Tango Foxtrot(also really enjoyed). Planning to start Labyrinth Lost today.
  • Crochet: Charmed Cloche – I started this yesterday. Not too far yet.
  • A to Z Posts: Plot – nothing more on this yet this week

Not bad progress for the week so far. On Sunday I’ll have my monthly and yearly wrap-up and what my goals will be going forward.

And the song that inspired the title for Jeremiah’s story:

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Coming to the End" (10)

  1. You’re having a mellowly productive week, with a character stepping up for a turn; me too! T’Pol has recently decided to give me insight into her motives and emotions!

    And, to inspire your Jeremiah-ing, here’s my all-time favorite Jeremiah, forever, at his fifteenth birthday dinner. Can you see the laid-back goofball in his eyes the same way I can?

    Turning Fifteen!

    • I finished Jeremiah’s back story yesterday. It just kind of rushed out. And he had a lot to tell me. I started Corrin’s last night, and hoping she’ll finally tell me exactly what happened that has her taking that break from school. 🙂 Then, there’s Silas, Jeremiah’s best friend/roommate. I imagine he’ll have some good things to tell me, too. Then, I have to write the antagonist’s. I probably won’t get them all done this week, so it will probably be on the list for the first round of next year.

      • Silas is another of my favorite names!

        I like to take all the time needed for backstories. A few of them have had actual full-length stories in them, which, at some point, I may pull out and use for something…..

        I hope you can convince Corrin that you can be trusted with her secrets.

        I’ll be carrying some stuff over too, but maybe not quite as much as I thought I might be, a week ago.

      • I finished Corrin’s back story yesterday, and she did finally open up to me. And I kind of just want to give her a hug(I’m sure Jeremiah would volunteer for that as well ;)) Also started Silas’ back story and got to where he meets Jeremiah in high school. 🙂
        And I finally finished my Snow White retelling, which I’d wanted to have done in October. I’ve still got quite a few details to fill in and some other revising to do, but at least it’s finally drafted.

  2. I really liked the tension between the characters and that feisty female character who says what she thinks, despite the audience. Your specific goals always inspire me — maybe this year, I’ll get a bit more organized and accountable . . . write on!

    • Thanks, Beth. I’m really liking Jaya, too.
      Good luck on the more organized. If it wasn’t for all my lists, I really don’t think I’d get much of anything done.

  3. I confess, I’m a little confused. Does Jeremiah have a crush on Jaya, or Corrin?

    • Oh, definitely Corrin. He thinks of Jaya more as a sister, and even though she’s older than him, he is rather protective of her.

  4. Love the tension in that scene. He deserved pulling up for that comment.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

