Home of a mother, wife, writer

Monday was a pretty good day of writing. I mostly just hit my goals for each of my projects. I went a little over on Crash and Burn, which was good. Then, I started working on Stay a Little Longer, and as usual when Erik comes on the page, he kind of took over. I swear he thinks every story is his. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I wrote more than twice my goal on that one. I was hoping for a repeat yesterday, but…that didn’t happen. Started out good with In the Moonlight. Then, I got to Crash and Burn, and…the words just weren’t coming. I got some, but by the time I took the kids down to the bus and came back inside, I’d lost all motivation. And decided to read instead. Part of that was because it was cold in the house, and I really didn’t feel like sitting at the desk. But, I think I’m going to take a sort of break until the new year. I’ll still write, but I think I’ll just work on one story each day and then only in the morning until around 7(unless the words are really flowing). I’m usually at the computer by 5, so that still gives me around 2 hours. The kids go to school through Friday this week, but they’re off all next week and the following Monday, and this coming Monday we’re having Christmas with my husband’s stepmom and siblings, so I think this will fit better until all the holiday stuff is over.

He can sleep anywhere, even in the middle of his sister's Christmas concert.

He can sleep anywhere, even in the middle of his sister’s Christmas concert.

We did finally get our Christmas tree up on Sunday, so we’re just about ready for Christmas. I still need to get some stocking stuffers and should bake some cookies, so hopefully I can get to that this week. Other than that, and wrapping the last of the presents, I believe I’m ready.

Pup wasn't sure what to make of this thing we put up in the living room ;)

Pup wasn’t sure what to make of this thing we put up in the living room πŸ˜‰

wp-1482321161853.jpg

The boy's letter to Santa he wrote at school. Thankfully the teacher included a translation

The boy’s letter to Santa he wrote at school. Thankfully the teacher included a translation

But, for now, it’s Wednesday, which means it’s WiPPet time! You can check out the other snippets from here. And if you want to join us, just post a snippet of a current work in progress that somehow corresponds to the date(and we’re pretty flexible about the math we use to get that). I’m working on Defending the Heart today, so you get some more of Piers and Xavier this week. I have 9 paragraphs(21-12) today:

It had always been this way. Hot and fast, and he’d never been able to hold anything back. That may have scared him more than anything else. He’d worried he and Piers would flash and burn out, and he would have ruined everything for no reason.
He closed his eyes and just reveled in the feel of Piers against him. He wanted to savor it. So bad. But, what if someone walked in? What if someone saw them. What if…Piers nipped at his lip and all those thoughts fled from his mind.
He had to touch him. He knew it might be smart to keep his hands to himself, but he had to touch Piers. Had to feel him against his fingertips, under his tongue. Otherwise, he might just burst apart.
Xavier’s hands skimmed under Piers’ shirt and he shuddered at the feel of that warm skin. He felt almost as toned as he always had, though it may have gone slightly soft. There was definitely still plenty of muscle there, though. Xavier wanted to see all of it. But, part of his mind was thankfully still aware they were down in the office. In their place of business. It didn’t keep him from thrusting his tongue into Piers’ mouth again, though.
Piers groaned now and broke his mouth away before pressing it to Xavier’s throat. “I want you. So bad, X, it makes me want to forget the promises I made to myself.”
Xavier pulled one hand from under Piers’ shirt, threading the fingers into the other man’s hair. The other hand slid further up until it rested over Piers’ heart. “I’m still in here. You can’t tell me otherwise.”
Piers closed his eyes and rested his forehead against Xavier’s. “I won’t try to,” he said. “But, we can’t do this.”
“We are doing it. We’ve been trying not to since March, and it hasn’t done any good. And my apartment is right up those steps.”
He could feel Piers trying to shut everything down and erect that wall between them. He felt like something heavy had laid on his chest, though. He was afraid if Piers did that, the weight would completely crush him.

No one walking into the office(well, the others that work there anyway) would be surprised to see this. They’ve all seen it coming, so that’s not quite what Xavier is worrying about.

This round of RoW80 ends tomorrow, so I’ll be doing my wrap-up post then, but for today, I’m still going to do my mid-week check-in(I’ll probably do one next week, too, even though it’s during the break).

 

  • Write: 12500 words – HAHA. HA. HAHAHA. Yeah, not even close. 5207/12500. I don’t think I’ll even reach 10k for the week. But, I suppose we’ll see.
  • Edit: Let It Begin – finish pre-revisions & start revisions – finished pre-revisions, but didn’t start actual revisions yet. Going to set this one aside until next year.
  • Plot: Loving the Devil – Plot summary & start Story Toolkit – I got the short summary(one sentence)Β written and the medium summary(1 paragraph) about half done. I am going to try to finish it this week, but I won’t start the Toolkit until next month.
  • Side Projects – add 2000 words – 430/2000 words. Really don’t think I’ll meet this goal this week, either.
  • Listen: Winter – I’m getting close to halfway in this, I think.
  • Read: Finish Ink or Treat(Eliza Madison), Status Update(Annabeth Albert), Breaking Through(Juliana Haygert), Night Watch(Suzanne Brockman), Touching Fate(Brenda Drake), The Family Simon(Juliana Stone), Going Deep(Cari Quinn), Serpentine(Cindy Pon), & Assassin’s Heart(Sarah Ahiers) – I finished Ink or Treat(really enjoyed), Status Update(loved), and Night Watch(enjoyed). My kindle was charging yesterday(which was why I read Night Watch before Breaking Through), but I started Breaking Through last night. Planning on doing a lot of reading the next two weeks(well, week & a half now). In fact, these just came in yesterday: wp-1482321184537.jpgΒ I love book mail! I may actually not get to any of these until next month, but still!!
  • Crochet: Grumpy Octopus Coffee Cup Cozy – I’ve made some progress on this.
  • A to Z Posts: Plot – no more progress since last week.

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Slowing Down" (14)

  1. I admit, I’m reading this in my cube at work, but it’s always freezing in here and for some reason now I’m nice and warm. πŸ˜‰

  2. Man, those characters that take over the story… I know that feeling. πŸ™‚

    Love this snippet – so much sexual tension.

    • Should have known Erik would try this again, he did the same with Break on Me. He’ll get his own story soon, he just has to be patient. πŸ™‚
      Thanks. Glad you liked it.

  3. They have heaps of chemistry. I’ll just be over here whispering to Piers to go upstairs with Xavier.

  4. Cold weather makes me want to curl up on the sofa with a cup of tea and a good book and do nothing else until spring. I think writing first thing in the morning and then taking it easy sounds like a good plan.

    I love your tree! With a young puppy in the house, we decided a full-sized tree was just a bunch of hazards begging for an incident (gnawing on branches, chomping the lights, eating an ornament), so we bought this little miniature tinsel tree from Target. Nothing fancy, but it works. Enjoy your holidays, Fallon!

    • That’s definitely a good way to spend a cold day. Though I’d switch tea with coffee or hot chocolate(depending on the time of day).
      Thanks. We’ve had the tree for 10 years now. It’s fiber-optic, so we don’t even have to worry about stringing lights. Our puppy(a year old now, so maybe not such a puppy) was one of the reasons I waited so long to put the tree up. He’s actually mostly left it alone, just sniffing at it a few times.
      Hope you have a good holiday, too!

  5. I hope you enjoy your laid-back time. I suspect I’ve got some of that coming, too, because I seem to have some organizing and learning to do, and the writing and revising are taking a backseat to that at the moment.

    I was debating posting an update on Sunday and Wednesday, so, you’ll have company if you post.

    Now, as for Xavier and Piers…Xavier, you need to TELL Piers you need him, right now. That you can’t bear him shutting you out now.

    Piers, you need to go upstairs with Xavier. You need to TELL him what you’re afraid of. You can do that before you make love, or after, or, if either of you can resist, instead of…but you need to TELL him, and LISTEN to him…

    You guys need to work this out…because I can tell you’re amazing together, and I want you both to have all the amazing you can get. =)

    • Enjoying it so far. Still getting some writing done, and I did get to most of my side projects yesterday. Word counts are lower, but I’m hoping I’ll be able to focus more after the new year.
      My post may be done later on Sunday than usual, depending on how late we’re at my mom’s and whether or not I take my little computer with us. Plus, we usually have time between when the kids are done opening gifts here and when we leave for my Mom’s, so we’ll see. Next Wednesday, there’ll definitely at least be a WiPPet post, though πŸ™‚
      They definitely need to talk and learn to trust each other again. Xavier did let Piers down in a big way a few years back, and then Piers just disappeared from his life, so they’re both still dealing with hurt and mistrust going back to that. They’re not there quite yet, but they will get there eventually πŸ™‚

      • I hope they can get there before long. It feels like forever, and that can’t be easy for either of them.

        I’ve gotten three A-Z essays written, and finished Lise’s Philodosia story. I’ve listened to quite a bit of Alexander Hamilton, and done some file sorting. I’ve revised some TnT – but there’ve been very few new words. I have this feeling I’m about to surge, though, so I’m clearing the decks so I can give it my full attention when it happens.

  6. […] just posted my mid-week check-in yesterday, but I waited until today to do my official end of the round wrap-up. And, even though the round is […]

  7. Well that was nice and steamy. *fans self*

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

