Home of a mother, wife, writer

Is it really only 11 more days until Christmas? How can that be? Thankfully, we have our Christmas shopping done. Well, except for stocking stuffers and we have to get a gift card for nephew and brother-in-law(we don’t really buy for our siblings, but he’s the only one without any kids). And some money to puts with 2 of my niece’s gifts(they’re taking horseback riding lessons and only wanted money for those, so I got a couple little toy horses and plan to wrap the money around those).

For anyone who read my post on Sunday, an update on my dad’s dog: got a text from him on Monday. She apparently had a soft tissue injury and got pills from the vet and was doing better. Glad it wasn’t something more serious.

The writing has gone pretty good so far this week. I didn’t think I’d be able to say that about yesterday as I seemed to stall out on words after getting kids on the bus. then, in the afternoon, I did some sprints with my critique partner, and it was the kick in the butt I needed. By the end of the day, I was only about 2k under my total from last week. So definitely making progress.

And it’s Wednesday again!! Which means it’s time for WiPPet Wednesday again. Once again, I’m working on Defending the Heart right now. Things got a little intense in yesterday’s writing. This comes right before what I wrote yesterday. 8 paragraphs(1+2+1+4)

Piers felt his heart start to slow down. There wasn’t some crisis to avert here. Xavier had just taken too big a sip of coffee. And was being dramatic about it.
“Have you found anything?” he asked.
Xavier shook his head. Piers sighed and lifted his hand to run through his hair. And caught Xavier glancing to the bit of skin the move had exposed just above the waist of his slacks. Piers swallowed hard and dropped his arm again. Xavier immediately spun and focused back on his computer screen. Piers’ throat still felt dry, though. What the hell was he doing? What was he thinking?
He wasn’t. It was the only thing that explained his next move. For why he stepped closer to Xavier’s desk. Why he put his hand on the arm of Xavier’s chair and spun it toward him. Even why he braced a hand on each arm of that chair and leaned forward.
Xavier had to look at him now. There was nothing else he could do. And an alarm sounded in Piers’ head the whole time, telling him he’d entered the red zone. There was danger ahead. But, he didn’t listen. He’d never listened when he was around Xavier.
Xavier’s eyes widened as Piers leaned even closer. He told himself he shouldn’t do this. He needed to take a step back. Needed to put some distance between the two of them. If he touched him even once, no distance would be great enough.
Then, he leaned forward and pressed his lips to Xavier’s. And knew only one thing.
He was a goner.

Getting a little warm in here now πŸ˜‰

As I said above, the writing has been going well through the first part of the week. Hoping that continues with the rest of the week.

  • Write: 10000 words – 8734/10000 words so far. The most was 1289 on Monday for Stay a Little Longer. When Erik steps onto the page, the words seem to roll right out. πŸ™‚ I finished today’s words on Defending the Heart after writing this part and that came in at 1584, but some of that was from a scene I’d previously written for a Stream of Consciousness Saturday post. I’m still counting it since I added it into my Scrivener project πŸ˜‰ and I did rewrite some of it.
  • Edit: Let It Begin – pre-revisions – I finished figuring out the timeline. Need to write up descriptions of the different locations to help with worldbuilding,Β  and figure out what needs to be changed and make my notecards for that. Then, I can start the actual revisions.
  • Plot: Loving the Devil – back stories – I have two of these finished and the third started. They’re coming in shorter than usual. Not sure if that means I don’t know these characters as well as I should or what. I may have to learn as I go.
  • Side Projects – 2000 words – 1139/2000. I’ve written at least a little on each of these. And even finished this week’s goal for one of them(Dougal & Shae).
  • Listen: Midnight Exposure(Melinda Leigh), Swamp Sniper(Jana DeLeon), & Gates of Thread and Stone(Lori M Lee) – I finished Midnight Exposure(enjoyed) Sunday and Swamp Sniper earlier this morning. I love this series. Downloading Gates of Thread and Stone so I can start listening.
  • Read: Finish Sweet Little Lies(Jill Shalvis), Into the Fury(Kat Martin), Fighting Dirty(Lori Foster), Tiny Pretty Things(Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton), The Better to See You(Kate Serine), Ink or Treat(Eliza Madison), Status Update(Annabeth Albert), & Breaking Through(Juliana Haygert) – I finished Sweet Little Lies(loved) and Into the Fury(really enjoyed), though it took me longer than I planned. Mostly because I kept falling asleep on the couch while I was reading. Not a reflection on the book, but more b/c once I have a blanket and puppy on my lap, I seem to doze off. So, I’m a bit behind on my reading now, but hopefully will catch back up. Still on Chapter one of Fighting Dirty
  • Crochet: Round Coasters(shouldn’t take long so may make a few of them) – I’ve made two of these so far this week. wp-1481727873383.jpg
  • A to Z Posts: Plot – I’ve plotted through K so far. Haven’t had much time to put toward it this week.

A lot of green and even some blue so far this week. Not too bad.

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Wrapping Up" (14)

  1. Zow! It’s only 10 degrees out there today, but I think the snow just started to melt. That’s a sizzling scene.

  2. Really like those colors, specific goals and goal categories, word count, and the overall progress. Your snippet captures Piers’ inner struggle beautifully — and the heat definitely goes up with those telling details.

  3. You’re going to read Dhonielle’s book?! Yay! She was my roommate in grad school. I’ll be curious to hear what you think of her work. πŸ™‚

    Good snippet, and awesome progress on your goals. Congrats!

  4. I’m glad to hear that Dad’s dog is doing better. Have a great week.

  5. I love the end of that snippet so much! It’s so similar to how the SO and I came together after years of friendship it’s uncanny. It gave me tingles. πŸ™‚

  6. “He was a goner.” Um, yes, me too! LOL. The chemistry here is fantastic.

  7. I’m a goner for these two, too! I’m not sure who enjoyed it more; Piers, Xavier – or me. I mean, really, you two….it’s about time!

    Looks like a good, steady week. By the way, I love that turquoise coaster – my very favorite color of all colors. =)

    May this week be even more productive.

    • Me, too. And yes, it’s definitely about time, though this is only the beginning. I just may have to share a snippet from the next scene next week. πŸ˜€
      It has been a pretty good week. My reading has fallen behind, but I did really good on the writing front.
      It’s one of my favorite colors too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

