Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: ‘Hurt More’

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. We’re covered in snow today, and we have my niece’s birthday party this afternoon, and after that Christmas with my dad and stepmom. But, I have some time this morning to bring you more of Devil and Hawk. This picks up about a line after last week’s.

“What the hell, Damon. I thought you’d learned the last time.”

“Not my fault,” I said. If I hadn’t already been in so much pain, that probably would have hurt more. “Ambushed me, couldn’t fight back.”

Hawk cursed even more. He usually kept that under tighter wraps. One of the few in the club who didn’t pepper every sentence with swear words. His restraint was pulled taut if he was letting so much out, all because of me. “Sorry,” I said, my head spinning as I tried to lift it.

What is going to happen next? I’ll have more of this scene next week, so you can find out.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: ‘Hurt More’" (18)

  1. Beat to a pulp yet worried about Hawk? That’s a touching scene.

  2. You get the mood and tone of this scene just right, Fallon. It comes across as unguarded and very intimate. Very nicely done!

  3. It’s bad enough that he was ambushed and beaten up, I hope Hawk is going to help. Damon needs to concentrate on himself a little.

  4. angelicadawson said:

    Hope he’s found some help. Sounds bad.

  5. I felt the pain! Well written, intriguing excerpt…

  6. Oh dear, I hope he has some relief coming, too!

  7. These two have such an intense, yet fragile dynamic. Love it!

  8. Diane Burton said:

    Very interesting about his restraint and what happens when he loses it. Nice.

  9. The more I see of these two, the more I like them. They seem to know each other very well, the way they would need to given their avocation, but it’s more – it goes deeper, to the kind of knowing that only comes when you’re really paying attention.

    I’m sorry Devil got hurt, but glad that Hawk is there for him, even though it’s hard.

    • I’m glad you like them. And they definitely have quite a bit of history . This is the start of where things turn around for them, though it takes a little more time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

