Home of a mother, wife, writer

Writing Wednesday: Off Week

This is definitely going to be a lower word count week for me. I’ve been fighting off a cold/sinus crud since this past weekend. So, I’ve been taking it a little easier this week. Starting to feel better, so hopefully next week things will pick back up again. And I’ve decided to switch my method up again. I was working on a different project each day from when I get up until around 9 a.m. But, sometimes the project I’ve picked for a certain day…the words just won’t come. Or my mind’s more on another project. So, I’m starting out each day working on the project that’s furthest along(right now that’s In the Moonlight). As long as the words are rolling, I’ll keep working on it. If I stall out, though, I’ll move on to the next one. So far this morning, I’ve worked on In the Moonlight, Crash and Burn, & Defending the Heart. The bottom three are all pretty close percentage-wise, so their order may flop around some.

Since today is Wednesday, that means it’s time for WiPPet Wednesday!! You can check out the others’ here. Today, as I’m still working on Defending the Heart, you get another snippet from that. I have 10 paragraphs(1+2+7) between Piers and Xavier, exposing some old wounds.

Piers could only stare after him for a minute. There was a lot he wanted Xavier to say to him, not the least of which was about the note he still held in his hand. “Who would do this? Who hates you so much they would do this?”
Xavier let out a bitter laugh. Piers hated hearing that sound come from the other man’s lips. Nothing about Xavier should ever be bitter. “You want me to make a list? Hell, I could probably put you on it.”
Piers could only stare at him as that wound bled. “You actually think I would do this?” he finally asked. “You think I would try to frighten you like this?”
Xavier turned back, and Piers saw the pained look in his eyes, like his words had been a self-inflicted wound as well. “I didn’t say you would be high on the list. But, if we’re making one of people who hate me, you’d at least make the bottom of it.”
And the knife twisted. “I can’t believe you would think that. I have never once hated you.”
“I don’t blame you. I screwed up, so I can’t really blame you for it.”
Would they just continue to rip each other apart? Was that what was meant for them? Piers had laid down that ultimatum three years ago, an all or nothing situation, how could he take it back now when Xavier still wasn’t willing to give all? But, it didn’t mean he hated the other man. He didn’t think he was capable of that.
“I’d destroy that list before my name ever touched it. And anyone who did make it on there.”
Xavier stared at him, his lips slightly parted, even as Piers wished he could reel the words back. They exposed too much of him, too much of the rawness that had never fully healed. He couldn’t take the look in the other man’s eyes and turned away. He started for the stairs leading out of the apartment and back down to the office space below.
“Piers,” Xavier said, his voice sounding as raw as Piers’ chest felt.

What’s going to happen next? Will they be able to move past this? Or will they keep hurting each other?

As I said above, it’s been an off week for me. But, I’ll still list out my progress here. Maybe it’s better than I thought(sometimes that happens).

 

  • Write: 12500 words – 3476/12500 words. Way behind where I’d like to be by today. May end up not meeting this one.
  • Edit: Let It Begin(Kurztown 2.5) – Pre-revision items(filling in all the [xx] I left through it, story map, timeline, etc…) – I got the [xx]s all filled in. There weren’t too many, mostly names for side characters. May get more done on it today.
  • Plot: Loving the Devil – Back Stories – I started the first back story, not quite 3/4 of a page written, and have added a couple pictures of how I imagine the character on pinterest.
  • Side Projects: Write 2000 words – 1071/2000 words. All of these came yesterday. Working on each of these for 5 minutes seems to be working out pretty well.
  • Listen: Soulless(Gail Carriger) & The Last MacKlenna(Katherine Lowry Logan) – I finished listening to Soulless yesterday and absolutely loved it. Wish I would have bought the second one when they were both on sale. Will be starting The Last MacKlenna today.
  • Read: Finish Soulblade(Lindsay Buroker), Against the Tide(Kat Martin), Honor’s Flight(Lindsay Buroker), Dare to Touch(Carly Phillips), The Vanishing Throne(Elizabeth May), Romancing the Holidays(various), A More Complicated Fairytale(Emily Witt), & The Distance Between Us(Kasie West) – Finished Soulblade(loved it), Against the Tide(enjoyed), & Honor’s Flight(loved) and read a short story that falls between Honor’s Flight and the next book(which I bought as soon as I finished HF). I got about halfway through Dare to Touch last night. I may not have been writing a lot this week, but been doing good with the reading.
  • Crochet: Dashes Beanie – Making progress on this. wp-1481115835872.jpg
  • A-Z Challenge Posts – nothing new here. For now, this will be a ‘once I have everything else finished’ project.

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Off Week" (14)

  1. Ugh! I hope you get to feeling better soon.

    And I hope Piers and Xavier get to feeling better soon, as well! Quite a bit of tension and old wounds here. Sometimes that’s so hard to get past.

    • Today is the first day I haven’t taken any cold medicine, so here’s hoping it’s on its way out.
      They’re starting to get there, though they still have a lot to get through. 🙂

  2. I know some people say they can write even when they’re sick. I need at least a day or two to recover; otherwise I’m just typing fever-induced gibberish. I hope you’re fully recovered soon. As always, I’m in awe of how you’re able to balance so many projects at once. I think my head would explode!

    • If it wasn’t for the sinus headache, it wouldn’t have been too bad, but it’s hard to write when it feels like my head’s in a vice. Feeling a lot better today, so hoping it’s mostly gone.
      Thanks. It seems to be the way my mind works best

  3. I don’t blame you for taking some time off when you’re feeling crummy. I can’t write when my head is like that, and I’m not sure how other people can!

    Great snippet. A lot of raw hurt there they both need to sort through.

    • It seems to be getting better now, so hoping the writing will be picking back up again.
      Thanks. Hopefully they’ll be taking the first steps toward that soon. 🙂

  4. Sinuses are the worst! I hope you’re well on the mend. Loved the scene – lots of anger and pain and all the jumping to conclusions / regret that comes with it.

    • They really are. But, it seems to be getting better now.
      Thanks. They keep hurting each other, mostly because they keep trying to protect themselves from being hurt by the other again, and it’s creating a vicious cycle, but hopefully that will start to come to an end soon 😉

  5. Hope the sinuses start clearing up!

    Great snippet, so much tension bubbling under the surface.

  6. Sinus infections SUCK! But it sounds like you were very productive anyway. Sometimes we just have to look back at all we accomplished rather than focusing on what we didn’t.

  7. So glad you’re feeling better, Fallon! =D

    You had a trickier reading week over Thanksgiving, as I recall. So maybe this week is a balance for that – at any rate, taking the time off you needed to get well is just a good idea.

    I feel something shifting between Piers and Xavier. Maybe they’re both starting to see where they’ve gone wrong, and, if they’re open to it, maybe they can even start figuring out how to fix things…

    Sometimes it’s those raw abraded places that grow the most fertile seeds…

    • I’m glad, too. Though I woke up this morning feeling like it was coming back. Hopefully not, but we’ll see if it stays away.
      Yeah, I think this is the first step toward healing what went wrong between them. This is only maybe 1/4 of the way into the story, though, so they’ve still got a ways to go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

