Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: ‘That Look’

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still continuing with the scene I’ve been sharing from the last couple of weeks. Last week I left Hawk with his fist cocked back as if to hit Jumper. Picking up this week after Devil tries to stop him.

He looked over at me then, his eyes glazed over. This wasn’t the boy I’d known, or the man who’d brought me into the fold here. This was something else entirely, almost like he’d been possessed. I took a staggering step back from him, but he blinked and that look was gone from his face. He looked at me, and I swore that was anguish that came into his eyes.

“Damon,” he whispered, but I shook my head and turned for the stairs, jogging up them. What I’d seen in him scared me, and he’d never done that, not in that way, before. I’d seen that look, in my father’s eyes before he took off his belt, in Trace’s stepfather’s when we went to get Birdie, in those Crows’ before they tried to kick the shit out of me.

But, I’d never expected to see it in Hawk’s. I wasn’t sure what to think about it, and I couldn’t face it tonight, so I locked myself in my room, deciding to deal with the insomnia instead.

Just what did get into Hawk there(May not find out exactly until I write Hawk’s story, though I have a good idea)? What’s going to happen next? You’ll have to wait until next week to find that out. But, this is the end of the current scene.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: ‘That Look’" (17)

  1. nancygideon said:

    A powerful, well-handled scene, Fallon!! A great reveal of emotions.

  2. Wow, Fallon. What a slice of powerful stuff! Awesome snippet

  3. angelicadawson said:

    Deep emotion in that little piece.

  4. Quite the situation and the emotion is very taut and tense…well done snippet!

  5. Andrea R Huelsenbeck said:

    Scary foreshadowing.

  6. What a disillusioning moment, to discover your friend’s dark side. You’ve captured the moment well.

    • Yeah, and Hawk is about as disturbed by it as Devil is. He always tries to keep his temper reined in because he knows how ugly it can get.

  7. Diane Burton said:

    Very intense. At the same time, it’s heartbreaking for Hawk. Good snippet.

  8. Intense snippet. Well written

  9. I’ve BEEN Hawk. More often than I liked, when I was younger. I’m very determined to learn to master the fires my upbringing left in me, and I’ve been on the other side of this situation, too…so I feel this one deeply. I don’t even need the details of this to know that a threshold has been crossed that maybe never can be fully retreated from.

    I do love your writing. So much said in so few words!

    • Yeah, Hawk’s fought for a long time to NOT become his father, which is pretty much his greatest fear. Then, one of the other guys said something, which was close to something his own father had once said, and it made him snap. They’re coming back from that now with where I’m at in the writing, but I imagine it will be visited again when I get to Hawk’s story(which will be after the serial I’m writing for the A-Z challenge).
      Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

