Home of a mother, wife, writer

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and today the kids only have half a day of school. No school tomorrow, Friday, or Monday(first day of hunting season is practically a holiday around here). I have mixed feelings about the holiday, especially the sanitized history we’re all taught. But, I won’t go into my rant on the treatment of Native Americans(and how it still hasn’t changed all that much) here. I may get dragged into that at my parents’ tomorrow or some other political discussion(I don’t seem to share many of my family’s views), but I’m really hoping to avoid that by taking my kindle and finding a quiet corner of the house.

Anyway, you’re either here today to read a snippet of a current work or to see my progress for the week so far(possibly both), so I’ll get to that. And I just changed my routine slightly. I had been working on each of my projects every day. And that’s been going okay. But, I’m going to try something different. Working on a different one every day. I’ve done this before, too. I’m going to write from the time I get up in the morning(usually sometime between 4-5) until 9 a.m. Then, I’ll wash dishes, workout(possibly), & get a shower before coming back to work on editing until lunch time. And I’ll take care of the rest of my to-do list in the afternoon. That break between the two seems to help switch my mind over. We’ll see how it goes.

Now, it’s time for another WiPPet Wednesday, where we share a snippet of a current work that somehow relates to the date. You can check out other snippets here. Today I’m working on Crash and Burn, so you’ll get a little more of Brann & Jaya’s story. I have 7 paragraphs(1+1+2+3) for today. A little context: Jaya works out of the fire station as a paramedic. Tony is one of the firefighters there, and he was giving Brann a hard time about wanting to see her(said maybe he should have called her/ brann didn’t have her number/ well maybe there was a reason for that). This picks up right after Brann being afraid the guy might have a point:

“Give it a break, Tony,” a voice said from the next bay over. Then, Jaya was stepping out from behind an ambulance. “I swear sometimes one of you is worse than both my brothers put together.”
Tony grinned and wrapped an arm around her shoulders. “You know we love you.”
She shoved him away, but Brann could still see the smile flickering around her lips. “I’m still not dating you.”
“Well,” Tony said, “my wife in particular will be happy to hear that. I’m a little disappointed, though.”
She laughed and shook her head. “Stop being an idiot. You know I meant in general. Now, go away.”
Brann could feel the grin stretching his face. She came closer as Tony stepped back then finally turned away. “They certainly do act like big brothers,” he said.
“Which is only one reason I refuse to date any of them. I see enough of it at work. I’m not the kind of person that needs to be protected. I certainly don’t want the guy I’m dating to think he has to be some kind of shield.”

What does Brann think about that(he grew up with a sister with a similar mindset if that tells you anything)? Is Tony actually disappointed(hint: NO. He’s very devoted to his wife)? Are Jaya & Brann going to date(spoiler: Absolutely)?

Playing in all the snow we got over the weekend.

Playing in all the snow we got over the weekend.

As for how things are going this week: Pretty good, actually.

  • Write – 10000 words(cutting it back because of the holiday) – 8632/10000 words. Definitely shouldn’t have a problem meeting this goal.
    • Defending the Heart – 1257 words – “You worry about a lot these days, Dec.” When his friend didn’t respond to that, Piers let out a long breath. “Why don’t you do it if you’re so concerned?”
      “Because I’m not the one who’s loved him for the last fifteen years.”
    • Crash and Burn – 3955 words – “So,” he said, bringing his gaze slowly back up to her face. God, she was something. Keeping his hands to himself tonight might just be torture. “Where did you want to go tonight?”
    • Not Meant to Be – 1098 words – “He is not one of your criminals, Tobias. He’s a sweet sixteen-year-old boy who doesn’t have it all that easy at home. That’s why he spends so much time in that park where Jonas met him. He is always welcome in this house. I don’t want you to make him feel otherwise.”
    • Stay a Little Longer – 1234 words – “Ouch, Doren,” Erik said, though his amusement had turned to confusion. “I know you can hold a grudge, but that’s harsh even for you. Hell, you even let me at least speak to Cassie these days without threatening to break my remaining leg.” *I doubt Doren ever actually made that threat, but possibly close. Not that he would actually do it 😉 But, Erik really was an ass in high school, and Cassie was one of his favorite targets.
    • In the Moonlight – 1088 words – “What do you care? You brought your girlfriend with you, and you really think Mom will want to see you, want anything to do with you after that? You know how she feels.” *Nola’s sister is not very nice
  • Guarding the Heart – Polish – I’m through 15/50 words on the list for this. Hoping to get through at least 25 this week.
  • Side Projects – Write 1500 words – 751 words. Managed at least a few words on all of these.
    • Dance with the Devil – 243 words – I was afraid Icarus or even Bull would put me on the detail that was staying here with the Ladies. Worried they’d say that it was too dangerous when the Crows had already attacked me twice. I had all my arguments ready to go. I’d never cared about danger. Hell, I’d been in dangerous situations for years. 
    • Snow White Twist – 124 words – “Hold on, princess,” she whispered hoarsely. “You hold on to that thread of life until I can make this right.”
    • Patrick & Sarah – 115 words – Her reputation in town was already set. That didn’t mean she needed to ruin his as well.
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 25 words(would have been more, but I was doing some research) – Eydyami nodded and waited for him to go on. 
    • Roman – 148 words – Roman leaned over the table until their faces were merely inches apart. They were so close, he could see the way the boy’s eyes glistened. His sister had definitely been a tender spot. He wondered if he could hit another one. And if he did, what way it would push Carlos. 
    • Dougal & Shae – 96 words – Dougal knew he shouldn’t have made that comment. It had been inappropriate, and one of his new buddies certainly hadn’t appreciated it. Obviously they knew the woman somehow. Just as co-workers? Or maybe there was more between them. Were they together or something? *or, you know, her brother.
  • Listen: Now That It’s You(Tawna Fenske), I may pick Furious back up if I finish before I get my next credit on Friday. – I finished Now That It’s You yesterday. Really enjoyed this one. Decided not to pick Furious back up, but returned the Kindle Unlimited ones I’d listened to and borrowed more. So, I started Summer in Napa(Marina Adair) and enjoying it so far.
  • Read: Finish Lead Me On(Victoria Dahl), If I Didn’t Care(Kait Nolan), Fly With Me(Chanel Cleeton), Rise of the Storm(Christina Ochs), To One Hundred(Melissa Blue), Fatal Secrets(Allison Brennan), Right Wrong Guy(Lia Riley), Anxious Love(Sydney Aaliyah Michelle), His to Protect(Elena Aitken), Bladelore(Krista Walsh), Raptor(Lindsay Buroker), & Perfect Fit(Carly Phillips) – I doubt I’ll get through all of these. I’m already about 2 books behind. But, we’ll see how the next 2 days go. I could catch up. I finished Lead Me On(really enjoyed) and If I Didn’t Care(loved). I’m a little more than halfway through Fly With Me and enjoying it.
  • Knit: Finish Polly Wolly Doodle Hat – I’m a little more than half through the main part of the hat. wp-1479914037922.jpg

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Thanksgiving" (6)

  1. Yeah, when the holiday season arrives, we definitely have to be more flexible with our goals. It sounds like you’re still doing really well with your word counts.

    I love that you mentioned the first day of hunting season being like a holiday. I’m from western PA, and we got the first three days of deer season off (because I guess if they didn’t make it a holiday, teachers would call off and many students just wouldn’t show).

    Happy Thanksgiving, Fallon!

    • Haha, yep, we live in northwestern PA.
      I made a lot of progress yesterday and am getting some things done before we head to my mom’s later today. Hope you have a good Thanksgiving, too.

  2. I took advantage of the slower vibe that follows my finishing a draft to do a lot of rereading for things I want to finish/revise by the end of the year. It’s been good; there’s a lot simmering, and I’ve finally gotten almost through the first scene of “First Contact, With Jazz” (the TnT fusion story.) It’s much more active now, with higher stakes from the outset. It had been extremely expository and passive. I’ve just got a dozen or two paragraphs left to jigger, now.

    I love all these snippets…each one is a little gem, a hint at a story I want to read. =D

    I am so with you on the sanitization of Thanksgiving. I personally think all Americans should, at some point in their lives, spend a day or two on a reservation to understand what we’ve done, and keep on doing, to this nation’s original inhabitants. It might put some of the immigration bias in a different light, and raise understanding and a desire to change things for the better.

    I hope your holiday visit went well, and that you enjoy your weekend!

    • Glad that’s coming together for you.
      And glad you liked the snippets. I think I’m going to start posting one of the short stories that didn’t get accepting into WUR as my Fiction Friday post. Not sure what I’ll do with the short stories I’m working on now(Dance with the Devil will be going up on Wattpad once I have it finished and polished up & I may submit Snow White Twist next year).
      Thanksgiving went pretty well. I got some writing and other stuff done before we left and a little reading while we were there. Instead of shopping today(I never go and have almost all Christmas shopping done online already), I’m writing. 🙂

  3. I like Jaya and the way the sentiments are expressed here. A little bit of big-brotherly-ness can be fun and sweet, and you can play along, but too much and it would wear thin for someone like that.

    • I’m glad you like her. and yeah, she’s used to it from her own older brothers and will only put up with so much of it. Thankfully, Brann understands that pretty well.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

