Home of a mother, wife, writer

Healing the Heart is set to release in another 2 1/2 weeks. So, this is at least the next to last teaser from it. From Chapter 22, at Garren & Lisa’s wedding:

She started to head for the dance floor, but Jared’s arms came around her. “It’s okay, you know. It’s okay to feel whatever you do.”
“How did you know?” she asked and couldn’t fight back the tears forming in her eyes.
“I know you, Melanie. Sometimes I think I know everything going through that head of yours.”
“I never would have expected this from you, Jared. Even as early as this morning, you couldn’t stand him, or the fact you thought I still had feelings for him,” she said and faced him directly.
He shook his head. “He’s not a threat to me. I can see that now.”
“What about my feelings? Are you worried about those?”
“As I said, they are yours. What you feel about him doesn’t matter, as long as I know what you feel about me.”
“Do you?”
He slid one hand around her back and the other over her ribs. He started swaying, causing her body to move in time with his. “I’m a doctor. I know what it means when your heart rate speeds up, when you can’t breathe,” he said and covered her mouth with his. “I know what those are symptoms of.”
“Oh really, Doctor?” she asked but couldn’t keep the smile from her face. “What’s your diagnosis?”
The hand at her back ran up to her neck and into her hair. “I’d say you have a severe case of unrelenting lust.” The word slammed into her, and she wanted to insist it was more. How could she when it’s exactly what she’d been trying to convince herself of? He leaned down to whisper in her ear. “Only one cure I know of. You in my room tonight, wearing nothing but those heels and my tie.”
That took her breath away. “I’m not so sure that’s going to help,” she finally managed to say and saw the wicked grin on his face. Before either of them could say anything else, she was being called to the dance floor for her part of the dancing. Now she couldn’t wait to get this over with and get back to Jared. What else could he say or do to turn her on without all these people noticing?

You can pre-order this now at Amazon, Kobo, & B&N.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

