Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: ‘Cocked Back’

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I still have 400 words to write this week to meet all my writing goals, but one kid has a birthday party to go to later this morning, and grandma is taking the other to lunch, so I’ll have the house to myself for a while. Hopefully I can get it done then. For now, I have the next 10 sentences from Dance with the Devil, picking right after last week’s.

Now, all the blood rushed back out of my face, leaving me cold, but I forced my feet to head closer to the stairs. He didn’t know anything. If Hawk really had left his mark on me, Jumper couldn’t prove anything.

“Don’t poke at him, Jeremy,” Hawk said, his voice low. He had a tendency to use first names instead of the road names we’d been given by the club.

“Funny, I thought that’s what you’d wanted to do.”

Suddenly I heard a snarl then something hitting against the wall. I turned and saw Hawk pushing Jumper up against that wall, their faces close together. This wasn’t anything like the embrace I’d just been in with Hawk. Especially as he had one fist cocked back like he’d hit someone I thought was his friend.

Is Hawk going to hit Jumper? Why did that one comment set him off? What will happen next? I should have two more snippets from this scene before moving on.

I also just got my next release, Healing the Heart, ready to go. It’s the follow-up to Duty to Protect and releases on December 2. It’s up for pre-order now on Amazon, Kobo, and B&N.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: ‘Cocked Back’" (8)

  1. Love the dynamics here, Fallon.

    Well done on the NaNoWriMo work. Keep on wrting xxx

  2. angelicadawson said:

    Exciting! Great tease!

  3. Lots of tightly coiled emotions (and fists). Powerful selection.

  4. Diane Burton said:

    Very intense scene. Good job!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

