Home of a mother, wife, writer

Sunday Summary: 1st Nine

We had parent-teacher conferences for the kids this past Thursday. We went to see the girl’s teachers(3rd grade) first(they switch in the afternoon for math/science/social studies). Both teachers basically said she’s wonderful to have in class. And very smart. We also got report cards that night. Her lowest grade was in math(and that was still in the “approaching proficient” range). Her writing grade was only a little higher, but her teacher said she was even excelling at that. They only expect in the 70s at the point across everything they grade for on the writing assignments, she had an 80 for one and in the 90s for conventions. Everything else(reading/vocab, science/social studies, word study) was in the “advanced” range.

Then, we went to the boys’ classroom(kindergarten). His teacher had wonderful things to say about him, too. He scored proficient in most of the literary things, though he needs to work on reading comprehension a bit. Proficient in all the math areas for the first grading period, and consistent in all the learner qualities(self-directed learner, quality producer, collaborative worker, respectful citizen). He still gets a little confused between what an author and illustrator does, but he knows most of his sight words so far. She also went over his DIBELS testing(early reading skills assessment). The goal for September for First Sound Fluency was 10, he scored 18 and is now at 48. For Letter Naming Fluency, September’s goal was 8. He scored 36. He hasn’t shown a lot of interest in reading on his own(his sister was already reading early chapter books by his age), but it really does seem to be a lack of interest and not ability.

Yesterday the kids went with my mother-in-law to see the Trolls movie. While they were gone, we went to the mall and found they have an ‘as seen on TV’ store. I found these stacking spice racks in there. Unfortunately our cupboards are weird, so I can’t stack them in there and still have any room for the spices. But, it did help organize the cupboard a bit. It was bad before. In fact, I found 3 opened crushed red pepper, 2 garlic powder, and 2 garlic salt containers.

these were all in the cupboard

these were all in the cupboard

what happens when you can't see what all you have

what happens when you can’t see what all you have

A little more organized

A little more organized

We also went to the used bookstore(well I did, well husband went next door to the tool store). I took back a bunch of books and got 3 more. I had to be careful since I just sent my Christmas list to my mom last weekend(she says I’m hard to buy for. All I ask for is books. *shrugs*).

As for my progress for the week, it’s gone well, especially the writing:

  • Write 12500 words – 13085/12500 words. Writing soothed me this week.
    • Defending the Heart – 2619 words – “It’s my fault,” he said. “It’s all my fault.”
      I know,” Randy said. “But, it doesn’t make it hurt any less. The last fight with Felipe was my fault, too. And I still stomped out like a little spoiled child. Fault doesn’t always come into play.”
    • Crash and Burn – 2753 words – She looked him up and down and something in her face softened. “You’re not like him. I don’t doubt you’d protect those who matter to you. But, you wouldn’t step over them to do it.”
      He was pretty sure she had Cormac pegged right down. He didn’t even realize he was doing just that, and didn’t understand when those he thought he was protecting got upset with him. “I don’t want to protect you, Jaya,” he said. “Don’t get me wrong. If you were in danger, I’d do whatever it took to get you safe. But, that’s not what I’m interested in. I want to get to know more about you. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about you.”
    • Not Meant to Be – 2565 words – It hurt that she didn’t have more faith in him, if not the rest of the police force, but there wasn’t much he could do about that. Cops had never really been there for her when she needed them. it was hard to get rid of that ingrained response. He knew that and couldn’t hold it against her.
    • Stay a Little Longer – 2618 words – “I ruined his life. He’s not going to want to see me in his town.”
      “You didn’t ruin Doren’s life. You damaged a good part of it, yes, but it’s not ruined. You should see how he’s doing now.”
    • In the Moonlight – 2530 words – A sob broke from me at that, and I couldn’t do anything to stop the tears from streaming down my face. So, I sat there and cried my heart out alone. The way it looked like I’d be for the rest of my life.
  • Healing the Heart – finish beta edits, proofread, & get cover art – finished beta edits. Got through 11/34 chapters of proofreading. And got the cover finalized, which I shared on Friday.
  • Side Projects – Write 1500 words – 1782/1500 words
    • Dance with the Devil – 546 words – He took a step toward me, his leather-clad thigh pressing against mine. “You know what it would do to me if it did? They wouldn’t have to come after me again, because I would be utterly destroyed. You might think you aren’t important, but you have to see how much you are to me. I’d do anything to make sure you don’t stop breathing. Don’t forget that, Damon.”
    • Snow White Twist – 540 words – Stop, she ordered herself. Get to Eira. That’s all she had to do right now. She’d deal with what happened to Ewan later.
    • Patrick & Sarah – 136 words – “A woman told me the last time I was in town. Well, she referred to you as the Jensen widow, so I put the pieces together.”
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 146 words – He jerked around to look at her, his eyes wide. Then, a smile curved his lips. “I still didn’t get your name.”
    • Roman – 140 words – “Tereza has faith in you, Carlos. Give me one reason to believe in that faith.”There was a quick flicker in the boy’s eyes, then they were guarded again. “You’ve seen her?” he asked.
    • Dougal & Shae – 275 words –Then, she saw the flash of the knife. Oh, hell no. He—whoever he was—was not going to stab her little brother. She didn’t care how much of an idiot he was.
  • Listen: Out of the Shadows(Tiffany Snow) & It Had to Be Him(Tamra Baumann) – Finished Out of the Shadows(enjoyed the end to this series) and It Had to Be Him(really enjoyed). Started listening to another one, but after an hour(out of about 8) didn’t really care what happened to the characters, so I stopped it. That was all I had in my audible library, so I returned those kindle unlimited ones and got 6 more(have 4 ebook only ones that I haven’t got to yet) and have listened to most of Kissing Under the Mistletoe(Marina Adair). Enjoying it and only have about an hour left.
  • Read: Into the Storm(Suzanne Brockman), Thrill Ride(Julie Ann Walker), Seduce Me at Sunrise(Lisa Kleypas), Devoted in Death(J.D. Robb), Tall Dark and Deadly(Suzanne Brockman), Controlled Burn(Shannon Stacey), Lover Awakened(J.R. Ward), & Lucky Break(Carly Phillips) –  I finished Into the Storm(enjoyed) and Thrill Ride(really enjoyed). Started Seduce Me at Sunrise but wasn’t enjoying it so set it aside then started Devoted in Death. Enjoyed it, though not my favorite of the series. I just finished Tall Dark and Deadly(this had two of her stories in it), enjoyed them for the most part. Just starting Controlled Burn. I’d like to finish it today, but we’ll see. And while I was at the used book store yesterday, realized Lucky Break was the third in the series(I grabbed it at a book sale), so bought the 1st 2 in the series, so I’ll be reading the first of those instead of that one.
  • Knit: Finish Tricorder Hat & Wheatfields Dishcloth – I finished the Tricorder hatwp-1478702318489.jpg and made progress on the dishcloth wp-1479036704751.jpgbut ran out of the yarn. I got more of that yesterday, so I’ll be able to finish it now.
  • Crochet: Tiny Jellyfish – finished this one pretty easily. wp-1478702323606.jpg

It was a pretty good week for my goals overall. Hopefully next week will be as well.

  • Write 12500 words
  • Healing the Heart – proofread & format
  • Side Projects – Write 1500 words
  • Listen: Kissing Under the Mistletoe(Marina Adair), The Perfect Game(J. Sterling), & It Had to Be Love(Tamra Baumann)
  • Read: Controlled Burn(Shannon Stacey), Lover Awakened(J.R. Ward), Lucky Charm(Carly Phillips), Playing for Her Heart(Megan Erickson), Fall Fast(Zoe York), Risking It All(Tessa Bailey), & Fame & Obsession(Cora Kenborn)
  • Knit: Finish Wheatfields dishcloth & Polly Wolly Doodle hat
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: 1st Nine" (4)

  1. I have to ask – how old are kindergartners now? When I was five years old in kindergarten, I got “excels at” in things like getting along with others and a “needs improvement” in taking naps – I wouldn’t nap, I wanted to play. How that has changed! Just glad my kids survived school – I don’t know how, but they did.

    Congrats on your kids’ achievements!

    • Both of my kids were 6 when they started(well, the boy was 5 for a few days at the beginning of the year). The girl we kept back in pre-K an extra year, mostly b/c of her social development. They changed the cut-off date from 9/1 back to 5/31 a couple years ago, but the boy would have missed it anyway. But, yes, they definitely expect more than even when I was in kindergarten. When my daughter was in K, I even said it seemed like she was learning things I hadn’t learned until 1st grade.
      Thanks!

  2. Sounds like your kids are making good progress. Congrats to them! And I love the new spice-shelf organization. I tried to buy something to organize my spices, but it didn’t fit in my cabinet, so I keep the most used spices at the front and dig around for the rest. It’s not the best system, but I’m working with it until I think of something better.

    Great progress this week, Fallon!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

