Home of a mother, wife, writer

Writing Wednesday: No Words

Okay, that isn’t really true, as far as my writing goes. There’s actually quite a few words there. Maybe even more than what I had at this time last week. As for other stuff going on in this country, this was all I could come up with to say:

And that is all I’ll say in regards to politics. And if you have a differing opinion from me, that’s fine, but I’m just going to say I will not discuss it here. I hope everyone will respect that.

Now, onto better, happier things. It’s WiPPet Wednesday, a blog hop to share a snippet from a current Work in Progress that somehow relates to the day. I’m still working on 5 different projects. Right at the moment, I’m working on Defending the Heart, book 3 in my BC Security series. So today I’m sharing from that. I have the first 15 paragraphs(11+9+2-1-6) I wrote this morning. Piers’ father asked him to go see a friend of his who lives near where Piers is now. He’s a little surprised by what he finds.

The man chortled. It was the only way Piers could think to describe the sound he made. “Ole Quin’s your daddy? I’d heard he had a wife and kid. Who’d have thought he’d turn out such a fine specimen?”
Piers felt heat rush over his skin. Maybe not so straight after all. Then, the man turned his head and shouted, “Hey, Fel, get your ass out here. Quinnie’s boy is here to see ya.”
Piers couldn’t stop the laugh that burst out of him. Trying to picture the straight-laced, often rigid, lieutenant colonel being referred to as ‘Quinnie’ was just too much. “Did you actually call him that? To his face?”
The man flashed a grin and winked at Piers. “You know it. I’m Randy by the way,” he said, sticking his hand out. “I’m Felipe’s husband, and I make sure this place stays running.”
Piers’ hand froze for a second in mid-air. Husband? Well, that was a surprise. Especially since his father still called the man a friend. But, he hadn’t talked to his own son for over a year because he’d told them he was bisexual. Sourness churned in his stomach.
Wariness seeped into Randy’s eyes. “Is that a problem? If so, you-”
“No,” Piers said quickly. “It’s not a problem for me. Trust me, it’s not. I’m surprised it wasn’t for my father, though.”
“Ah, well, it helped that both Felipe and I left the Corps before we came out. We’ve been together ever since, though.”
It sounded so much like the way he’d hoped things had gone for him and Xavier that it hurt to breathe for a moment. “So my dad doesn’t know then,” he finally said.
Randy looked almost sad for a moment. “Oh, he knows. He didn’t speak to Felipe for almost five years after we were publicly together. Then, they started talking on the phone again. But, I think it’s been a couple years. They had a falling out again over something with Peter’s…Oh.” His eyes were wide and awareness filled them. “I’m guessing you don’t have a brother, do you?”
“No,” Piers said quietly, “it’s only me.”
Then, there was a large man striding across the room, scowling at Randy. “Ran, what have I told you about shouting to me? We have a phone system for a reason.”
Randy grinned at Piers and winked again. “He only pretends to be angry with me. The making up is worth it.”
More heat flushed through his skin, but his lips still twitched up into a smile. It felt so much like something Xavier would do. He swung his gaze toward the approaching man, but froze before he could meet his eyes. All the blood that had been flushing his cheeks suddenly drained away. Felipe came to a stop in front of him, but Piers couldn’t rip his gaze away from what he saw just over the man’s shoulder.
“What are you doing here?” Xavier demanded.

Well, Piers wasn’t planning to run into Xavier. Xavier has known Felipe and Randy since he was a teenager, though. And it appears he may have picked up his flirting techniques from Randy.

Now, as for my progress so far this week:

  • Write 12500 words – At 8791 so far. Had a slow start to the week with a bad sinus headache Monday morning. But, I’ve caught up the last couple days.
    • Defending the Heart -2203 words – “If you plan on hurting him,” Felipe said, “you should know, he’s pretty important to us. And we taught him to fight. So, you’d better watch yourself.”
    • Crash and Burn – 1687 words – Jaya let out a long sigh and caught a quick smile. “You know what I mean. Is he the overbearing alpha type who thinks it’s his job to protect the little woman? I’ve had enough of that from my brothers. If he is, it would just be better to avoid him.” No matter how much she wanted to get to know him better. “I won’t submit to a man. Not ever.”
    • Not Meant to Be – 1685 words – “Do you want to make a report?” he asked when she calmed again.
      “A police report?”
      “Well, certainly not a book report. You called a cop, Denise.”
      “No, I called my friend.”
    • Stay a Little Longer – 1654 words(haven’t worked on this one yet today) – She spun and saw Paul standing there, his wide [xx] eyes staring at her. Oh God. how much of that had he heard? She knew he didn’t still believe in Santa Claus, not that he’d tell either of his siblings the truth. He was too good a kid to ruin it for them. But, he already worried about too much. She didn’t want to add this on as well.
      “Paul. What is it? I need to get to work, but-”
      “I don’t need anything,” he said before she could finish. “For Christmas. If you just want to get Alex and Clay presents, it’s okay. I’ll be fine, really.”*I need to go back & see if I’ve ever mentioned what color his eyes are(thus the [xx] up there)
    • In the Moonlight – 1562 words – Nola made a face at that. “the problems of a poor rich girl.” then, she winced. “Sorry.”Right. That’s what she still saw me as. I didn’t want to admit how much that hurt.
  • Healing the Heart – finish beta edits, proofread, & get cover art – I worked on some of the general edits, mostly adding in more character description(something I tend to lack in earlier drafts). And I got the cover! I’m planning to do a cover reveal on Friday. If anyone’s interested in helping out, let me know.
  • Side Projects – Write 1500 words – 830 words and those were all yesterday. I had all the side projects open at once and worked a little on each before moving to the next. Got about half goal on the 2 bigger ones and finished this week’s goal on 2 of the smaller ones.
    • Dance with the Devil – 260 words –“I know,” he said, resting his forehead against mine. “We can’t be stupid now.”“But, I’m so good at it,” I said, hoping it would get a smile from him.
    • Snow White Twist – 288 words – “Girls,” one of the brothers called out, Happy probably. Eira still wasn’t good at remembering the brothers’ real names, but the ones Tarian had given them seemed to stick. And Happy was usually the one who greeted them first.
    • Patrick & Sarah – 136 words – Her lips parted as she stared at him. She didn’t know what she’d say to him, though. Tell him to go. Ask him to stay this time. No, no, she definitely couldn’t do that.
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 146 words –  “Tavin,” she said softly, trying out the name on her tongue. She liked it.
  • Listen: Out of the Shadows(Tiffany Snow) & It Had to Be Him(Tamra Baumann) – I finished Out of the Shadows yesterday(enjoyed) and started It Had to Be Him. Really enjoying but also really disliking main character’s father at the moment.
  • Read: Into the Storm(Suzanne Brockman), Thrill Ride(Julie Ann Walker), Seduce Me at Sunrise(Lisa Kleypas), Devoted in Death(J.D. Robb), Tall Dark and Deadly(Suzanne Brockman), Controlled Burn(Shannon Stacey), Lover Awakened(J.R. Ward), & Lucky Break(Carly Phillips) – I finished Into the Storm(enjoyed) and Thrill Ride(really enjoyed). Started Seduce Me at Sunrise but wasn’t enjoying it so set it aside then started Devoted in Death. Not too far into it yet.
  • Knit: Finish Tricorder Hat & Wheatfields Dishcloth – finished the hat on Sunday. I ran out of the gray yarn I started with, but had a different one. Not even close to the same shade, but oh well.wp-1478702318489.jpg
  • Crochet: Tiny Jellyfish – I finished this yesterday.wp-1478702323606.jpg

A good bit of green and even some blue in there. Not a bad start to the week.

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: No Words" (2)

  1. And all I can say about the current state of affairs in this country is that fact is stranger than fiction. With all the stories roaming around in my head I don’t think I would have ever come up with the 2016 election as something anyone would ever read as believable. Other than that, best wishes with all of your projects. Looks like you’re making good progress.

    • Thanks. I’m just about through all my writing goals and it’s only 6 a.m. on Friday 🙂 I’ve fallen a little behind on the editing and reading but hoping to catch up there.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

