Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back for another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I know last week I said I was going to give you the next part of the scene I’ve been sharing from. Instead, I’m jumping ahead to the next scene. It’s my birthday(the big 3-2, oh yay), so I’m going to share what this has been leading to(and as it may be unclear, probably due to the 1st person narration, both Hawk and Devil are male). In the last scene, Hawk told Devil until something changed  he’d need to find a new riding partner then left Devil’s apartment. Devil followed him, got caught in the rain, and they found shelter in an abandoned barn where they argued some more until:

“This is probably a mistake,” I told him.

“I don’t care,” he said, his mouth hovering close, so close, to mine. I could feel his breath on my lips as he spoke. “It feels like everything that’s ever taken me away from you was a mistake. This can’t be a worse one than those.”

I closed my eyes and didn’t stop him when his lips pressed to mine. Instead I opened my mouth, let him in, and pressed into him. It might be a mistake, but he was right, it wouldn’t be the worst one I’d ever made.

Are they making a mistake? Or is this the best thing to happen for them?

Comments on: "WeWriWa: ‘Wouldn’t Be the Worst’" (19)

  1. At long last! I hope the enjoy their kiss before the fall out starts!

  2. Nice scene. Good job moving from thought to dialogue. 🙂

  3. There are worse things coming, I’m sure, so enjoy it while it lasts. Nice scene! Tender and passionate.

  4. angelicadawson said:

    Great punch in a few lines.

  5. Author Jessica E. Subject said:

    So tender and sensual. Great scene! 🙂

  6. I say go for it – these two seem destined for each other to me! Great snippet, love the rain and the barn…

  7. This kiss is a great idea- they just can’t chicken out after. 🙂 Happy Birthday!

  8. Happy BIrthday! I’ll be 32 in February 🙂 Loved the snippet. I particularly liked this line: It feels like everything that’s ever taken me away from you was a mistake. This can’t be a worse one than those.”

  9. Diane Burton said:

    Great snippet. Very tender.

  10. Very sweet. Great snippet

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

