Home of a mother, wife, writer

I just got Healing the Heart back from my beta reader last night. There are a few issues to address, but I don’t see a problem having it all done before the end of this month. So, right now, I’m looking at a December 2 release date. Hopefully that doesn’t change. Now to secure a cover and make sure it’s ready to go by then. For now, another little teaser.

“I don’t like being late.”

“You never did.”

She shrugged. “I almost was. Got a call about a half hour ago from one of Gilbert’s finest. He told me my car had been found. I never reported it missing, so I assume you did call them.”

Jared’s shoulders tensed. He hated how easily she riled him up. He didn’t think she always even tried. It was just that easy. “Of course I did. I said I would, didn’t I?”

She nodded. “You did, but I could tell you didn’t want to. I thought maybe you’d back out.”

“Why would I? It’s not that I didn’t want to notify them of the damage to your vehicle. I didn’t want to bring them down on my clinic and risk losing patients who feel they don’t have anywhere but the clinic to turn. I explained that already.”

“I’m not trying to fight with you, Jared. I told him I couldn’t talk now because I needed to get to the hospital, so he wants to speak with me tomorrow. What exactly did you tell him?”

“The truth,” he said but didn’t look at her. “Someone told me a car had been vandalized in the parking lot. I went to check it out and recognized it as yours. I had no idea why you left it there instead of driving it home, but you usually took the bus so probably forgot you had driven this morning. You were already gone.”

A smirk flashed across her face, and he fought back his own smile. “I thought you told him the truth,” she said.

Jared shrugged. “Close enough.”

Melanie shook her head. “What did he say about it?”

“Probably some punk gang kid doing it for kicks.” He turned his head to glance at her. “Those were pretty much his words.”

“Do you think it was something else?”

“Yeah, I do. Most of the kids in that neighborhood have more to worry about than destroying someone’s car. Especially someone who has been trying to help them.”

“Even when they don’t want help? Maybe that’s what they’re trying to tell me.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

