Home of a mother, wife, writer

Today’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt is to use in/out. One or the other or both somewhere in the post. The only project I haven’t worked on this week is Crash and Burn(previously only referred to as Brann’s story or Brann & Jaya). This comes right after last week’s piece I wrote. I tried continuing that scene yesterday, and couldn’t figure out how to pick it up. I think because that scene was over, and I just didn’t realize it. So, we’ll be switching into Jaya’s POV now.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jaya left her hand in Brann’s for a moment longer than necessary for a greeting. But, she didn’t want to let go. Ridiculous. She’d just met the man. She couldn’t really feel anything for him. But, he hadn’t take his eyes from hers yet.

“Care for a dance?” he asked.

She hesitated for a moment. She really wasn’t much of a dancer. She knew exactly what to do when she was in the back of an ambulance, but in almost any other situation, she wasn’t nearly as sure of herself. She couldn’t see the same being said of him. he looked perfectly at ease with himself. What would he say if she started tripping over her own feet out there?

She heard Caitie snicker from behind Brann and wondered what that was about. But, she found herself nodding. He pulled her out to the dance floor and brought one hand to her waist. He didn’t seem to want to release that hand, though. Maybe he felt the same way she did.

“I’ll apologize in advance,” he said.

She was almost too drawn in to that honey-smooth voice to process what he’d said. “Why would you apologize?”

The song changed, another slow, romantic tune at least, and they started to move with it. And only a few beats into the song, she felt a sharp pain in her toes. Brann winced. “That’s why,” he said. “Sorry about my big clumsy feet. I don’t always seem to know where I’m putting them.”

She laughed and put her arms over his shoulders. And here she was sure he’d be so sure of himself. “Then, why did you ask me to dance?”

“Because ever since I saw you earlier, I wanted to spend some time with you. But, I thought you were here with one of the firefighters.” one side of his mouth ticked up at that. “Mark and Caitie set me straight on that one. I figured when you were dancing with that kid, he was who you were with.”

“Austin?” she asked with a laugh. “He’s like my little brother. And anyway, I’d never truly get between him and Jess. No matter how many times she breaks his heart.”

Brann shifted and finally looked away from her. What was that all about. He glanced back at her. “Sorry. I don’t like discussing other peoples’ relationships. It can get sticky.”

He’d looked away again, and she followed his gaze. Over to the bar set up in the corner of the room. “Who’s that?” she asked.

“My baby brother and one of his bartenders. That’s all I’ll say about it.”

She looked up at him again and thought he might look worried. But, she didn’t understand that at all. She thought it might be one of those sticky things he didn’t like to discuss, though.

You aren’t a firefighter, right?” she asked.

He let out a loud rolling laugh at that. “No,” he said, grinning down at her. “I’m not. Thank goodness for that. I heard I wouldn’t have a chance with you if that was the case.”

But, he wanted one? Beyond more than just this dance? She thought she could go for that.

Comments on: "Stream of Consciousness Saturday – In/Out" (1)

  1. […] by Friday. But, I only had one left to get to. I did part of that yesterday as part of my weekly SOCS post. And I finished the rest of it this morning. So, I still managed to get through all my goals. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

