Home of a mother, wife, writer

We’ve come to the final chapter of Come Back Down, and I don’t have Dance with the Devil finished yet. I might have the first draft done by the end of this month, not sure though. Then, I’ll still have to revise it before I start putting it up. So, it probably won’t be until next year before I start posting it to Wattpad(maybe December if I get lucky). For now, here’s the beginning of the end:

We didn’t have to wait long for it all to go down. Less than a week later the buzzing started. Smoke and Wraith came riding in to tell us the word from town. The cops hit the Ivory Crows’ clubhouse early in the morning. They’d come back from a job and were caught with the drugs, money, and weapons that had been taken. In the ensuing scuffle, one of the officers had been wounded, but he’d been listed as in good condition. Almost all of the Crows had been taken in, but a few were said to have slipped away. One of those being one of the sergeant-at-arms from what Wraith heard.

That fact didn’t put me at ease. If it had been a member, we might not have anything to worry about. With it being an officer in the club, someone who had influence and got things done, they might be able to gather resources to come after the Riders.

“Stop worrying about it,” Icarus told me two days after they’d first gotten the news. “There isn’t anything we can do about it until something happens.”

“Don’t you think it will be too late by then?” I asked him.

“We won’t go after them, Birdie. That’s not how this club functions, and you know that.”

“What if they get you, or Trace, before you have a chance to be ready for them. Dad-” My voice cracked, and he came to me, wrapping his arms around me.

“I’ll do everything possible to make sure nothing happens. To any of us. You have to know that.”

I did, but it didn’t stop me from being scared. I think he knew that. Trace did, too, since I think he felt the same way as me. The club thought we were inseparable before, but now we barely left each other’s sides. He was relaxing about touching and being touched as well. Either it was the massive amount of touching we were doing, with our clothes still on unfortunately, or his sessions with Raven were finally helping.

I didn’t care. He was healing and opening up for me more.

Chief wanted to keep patrols up, so two Riders went out together every night, riding through town and the surrounding area at three hour intervals. It was to keep us safe, to give us time to get prepared before something went down. I didn’t complain, even when Trace had to leave my arms, to go on his rounds.

He should be back by now. He’d gone out with Smoke, so I wasn’t too worried about something happening. Smoke would take care of him. I wasn’t feeling good about everything that was going on. It had gone too well for us. Nothing did that for long before the bottom fell out.

What’s going to happen now? Has something happened with Trace? Or will he make it back? You can read on to find out. And I hope you’ll come back when I start posting Dance with the Devil.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

