Home of a mother, wife, writer

The week started out pretty good. Got my main writing goal in, as well as plotting, and even some on a couple secondary projects and one of my side projects. It was a good day even with the kids home from school. Yesterday, on the other hand, I’m not quite sure what happened. Bounced between plotting and working on Break on Me. I hadn’t plugged in the Surface the night before, and that’s what I’ve been working on Break on Me on, but I’m working on all the new stuff on the laptop so I can go back to using Scrivener. So, while the Surface charged, I worked on plotting. And when I got back to writing, the words just weren’t coming. By lunchtime, I didn’t have any desire to write, just wasn’t feeling it. I probably could have pushed through and maybe I would have broken through the block. But, I didn’t. Instead I sat and read for the rest of the day. So, yesterday’s word count was pretty low. Today’s hasn’t been much better yet, but I don’t plan to take the whole afternoon off again.

I did finish Closing Time last week, as I mentioned on Sunday. So, Break on Me has moved up into my main project slot. So, I’ll be sharing from that for now. I’ve shared a few snippets of it before, but I don’t remember exactly what the last one was. I have 18 lines(16(for the year)-10(for the month)+12(for the day)) of mostly dialogue between Erik and Gabriel, talking about Lora.

“So,” Erik drew the word out slowly, “you have a beautiful woman in your bed, and you’re out here freaking out about something that probably hasn’t even happened. Do I have that right?”

Gabriel clenched his fingers in his hair, until he felt it pull against his scalp. “Trust me, it isn’t anything I haven’t told myself.”

“Stop that,” Erik said, sliding his hand under Gabriel’s and prying his fingers out of his hair. “Your hair’s too nice to pull it all out before your thirtieth birthday.”

Gabriel let out a laugh, but he dropped his hand. “I don’t know what my problem is. I’ve wanted Lora so long, even when she was too young for me. I promised Aaron I wouldn’t let anyone hurt her, so what am I doing?”

Erik let out a snort, that held pretty much everything Gabriel knew he felt for the man in it. “That was a pretty stupid promise for him to have you make. He had to have known how you felt about her.”

“I never told him.”

Another snort. “I don’t think you would have had to. If you looked at her back then like you do now, he would have known it. What were his actual words, ‘don’t let anyone touch my sister, even you, you dirty bastard.’?”

Gabriel couldn’t help it, he laughed at that. It had been a spot-on impersonation of Aaron, even if he’d never called Gabriel that. “You know he didn’t. Aaron didn’t believe I was bisexual. He didn’t understand. Even when I’d explain it to him, he couldn’t wrap his head around it. He thought I was just hiding. He wouldn’t have thought I’d actually be attracted to her.”

“Then, he really was an idiot.”

Let’s just say, Erik already didn’t have a high opinion of Aaron. And he has more to say about what he thinks of this promise.

On to my progress for the week.

Plotting:

Making progress on the story toolkit for Jess & Terrall’s story.

Writing:

I’ve added 5261 words between 3 projects.

Break on Me – 3521 words

“I figured you’d already gone to work,” Gabriel said.

“Slept in. I’ve gotta get going. Gotta make the rent.”

“Asshole,” Gabriel muttered, but his lips twitched. He caught Lora glancing up at him and told her, “I don’t make him pay rent, and he knows it.”

In the Moonlight – 1032 words

“No,” Yasmin said. “No, buts. You’re all grown up now, Nola. Your mother has no control. Only you should. Not a parent, or sibling, or hell, even whatever partner you choose. You ever don’t want me to touch you, just tell me, and I promise I won’t. I’ll respect whatever lines you establish, even if they change at a moment’s notice.”

Defending the Heart – 708 words

And maybe he was just fooling himself. Even being around Xavier for that short amount of time the night before had left him twisted up in knots.

Editing:

Moved scenes around a bit. No changes to word count. Also, still looking for a couple beta readers for Healing the Heart if anyone’s interested in giving some feedback.

Side Projects:

Worked on Dance with the Devil. Added 541 words.

Except for Hawk. He’d been avoiding me since I’d first woken up. Sure, I saw him around the clubhouse from time to time, but he hardly spoke to me. I thought back to what Icarus had told me. Was I really hurting him that much? Didn’t he know he’d be better off without me anyway?

Reading:

I listened to The Sapphire Affair(Lauren Blakely) and enjoyed it. Then I started The Matchmaker’s Playbook and despised the “hero’s” attitude and had to stop listening. Started This is Where It Ends(Marieke Nijkamp) and oh, wow, this was so good. I sobbed while listening to the last few chapters.

I read Shallow Graves(Kali Wallace) and really enjoyed this. Also read Rest Stop(Catie Rhodes) which I liked and Personal Geography(Tamsen Parker), which I also enjoyed, though it ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, so I’ve got to pick up the next book soon. I started A Perfect Storm(Lori Foster) and I’m only 58 pages into it.

Crafting:

Finished one of the Fall leaves. Was planning to do a few in different colors, but haven’t made it that far yet. I also want to crochet a few different dish cloths since the puppy keeps chewing them up(chewed a hole right through the laundry bag even)

wp-1476300233278.jpg

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Stop and Go Week" (13)

  1. Writing is a good thing, it can be therapeutic. Anyways from the looks of it, you have been busy indeed. Not bad at all 🙂

  2. Oh! I love the crochet leaf. I’ve got a Surface 3 and I tend to forget to charge the thing all the time. I don’t normally have to charge it daily, since I keep it mostly in Airport mode. Sorry things were a little bumpy there but it looks like you were productive anyway.

  3. “Aaron didn’t believe I was bisexual. He didn’t understand. Even when I’d explain it to him, he couldn’t wrap his head around it. He thought I was just hiding. He wouldn’t have thought I’d actually be attracted to her.”

    OMG, this times like ten billion. The number of times I (and people I know) have had to respond to that is astounding.

    (Also: Can I just say how much I adore that there’s a bi guy getting together with a woman? That basically never happens in books, so yay!)

    • I’m so glad you liked it.
      And I may have to post more snippets from Flames of Restoration when I get around to editing it as it’s similar there 😉

  4. I love these snippets – all of them. It is odd that we tend to assume that a person is only drawn to the gender of their current mate or love interest…I’m happy to say that while I’m learning not to make that type of assumption, I don’t appear to have passed it on to my children. My daughter has, on several occasions, informed me that her LPS characters are bi or non-binary.

    Hope for the future.

    As for slow days, last night, needing a revision break, and not quite ready to dive into new writing, I started reading a TnT fanfic – and, eighteen chapters later, I had to sleep – it was after 6am. I figure #itswritingresearch, and I needed simmering time, so I figure it’s all good. =)

    And I love the leaf! It’s cool when we get back to the season when you post your craft projects! =)

    • So glad you like them. Some people see things as only black 7 white unfortunately. Sometimes we’re taught to, and I’m trying to get myself away from that initial thought process myself. Over the summer, my son asked me if girls and boys could marry each other. Then, he tell me Pup & Husky(his two stuffed dogs) are going to marry each other and they’re both boys. And I’m just like “That’s perfectly fine.”
      Yesterday I wrote over 3500 words on Break on Me and ended up catching up on my goal for the week, so I think the break helped.
      Glad you like it. This one was pretty easy to make.

  5. I like that you included the issue of “bi people don’t exist”. Just that bit alone gives a good sense of the type of guy Erik is. I really like the dialogue in this scene, too, particularly the “Your hair’s too nice” line.

    • I’m so glad you like it. And Erik, yeah, he’s quite a character. Let’s just say he doesn’t have much of a filter. 🙂

  6. Great scene, and yep. Just hiding… Grr. Yay for bi visibility!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

