Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: “What I Am”

Back for another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil, which I did end up adding a good bit to this week. But, for right now, I’m picking up where I left off last week, with Devil and Hawk having a conversation about the fight Devil got into. I skipped a couple lines, but Hawk asked Devil how the other guys provoked him, and he was trying to avoid talking about it.

But, I knew he wouldn’t leave until he got what he came for. “They badmouthed you,” I mumbled.

“What was that?”

I finally spun toward him then regretted it as pain slashed through my ribs. “I said they badmouthed you. They called you…names, said awful things about you. I couldn’t take it.”

“Damon,” he said, his voice soft, “you can’t let that get to you. I know what I am. Whatever they said, it doesn’t matter.”

Just what did they say that riled Devil up so much? Where is this discussion going to go? Stick around, and I should have more of it next week.

I also put Chapter 9 of Come Back Down up on Wattpad yesterday, so you can read that if you’d like. You’ll even see a little bit of the history between Hawk and Devil in that one.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “What I Am”" (13)

  1. I really enjoy the complex dynamics between these two characters, Fallon. Nicely done.

  2. It’s interesting that he seems to care more for his friend’s reputation than does the friend himself.

    • As Hawk tells him at one point after this, “you can’t fight every hateful person in the world”. That’s just not quite so easy for Devil to accept.

  3. Nice sneak peek, Fallon! A lot of depth in just a few words.

  4. I definitely want to know where this discussion is going! :-O He’s being a good friend by putting the friend first!

  5. I like Hawk’s attitude frankly, although I honor his friend for trying to stand up for him. Great snippet!

  6. I sympathize with Devil- it’s one thing to be insulted, it’s another to have someone badmouth a friend!

  7. It says a lot about the character to have him stand up so strongly for a friend. Good snippet!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

