Home of a mother, wife, writer

Good week over here. Finished the first draft of one of my projects. It was supposed to be a novella, but these characters had other ideas apparently. It’s a little under 60k so still a little on the short side for a novel for me, but definitely longer than a novella.

I’ve put the next chapter of Come Back Down up on Wattpad. I only have one more left after this. Then, it’ll be on to Dance with the Devil. I haven’t finished writing that, though, so it’ll be a little bit before I start posting it. For now, here’s the start of Chapter 9:

 

“I can’t believe that boy’s a cop. And he had us all fooled.”

“Doesn’t put him in the right, Bull, just because he carries a badge. Or make him a good guy.”

I looked back and forth between Icarus and Bull. They’d been just as shocked about Brad as we were. I still wasn’t sure what to make of it.

“He could be lying,” Trace said. “It looked legit, but I’m sure there are people who are good enough to forge that.”

Icarus glanced over at Chief. “You’ve still got contacts at the department, right? Could you find out for sure?”

“I doubt any are high up enough to be able to tell me anything. I think we should believe the boy. It does add up a bit more.”

“What I don’t understand,” I said, “is if this was always a job, why did he get so worked up when he found out about Trace and me? Why’d he bring Hawk into it?”

“Those answers are both easy,” Icarus said. “To the first one; pure and simple jealousy. He had to push you away for the job he needed to do. Doesn’t mean he didn’t still care. But, you don’t want someone who uses jealousy as an excuse to hurt others.” He glanced quickly to Trace, who tightened his arm around my waist. “As for the second, it doesn’t matter if he is a cop, he’s still an asshole with firm opinions.”

“What do we do now?” I looked straight at Icarus. The captain and sergeant were equal positions, but Bull had a tendency to defer to Dad’s opinion anyway. So, I started there. “He basically said we should stand down, or we might get caught in the middle of things. I don’t know if we should trust him.”

“We bring it before the club,” Icarus said. “Like we do anything that affects us as a club. None of us wanted war, but it looked like it was heading that way. If we can avoid it, I know which way my vote will go.”

Bull nodded in agreement. “It’s the way it’s done, Birdie, you know that. What the club decides is what we do. We’ll talk and argue the points, but once it’s done, it’s done with.”

“Yeah, I know.” I worried about that. Even if Icarus and Bull were all for stepping back and letting someone else, even the police, handle things, it didn’t mean other members, particularly some of the younger ones like Devil and Arrow, would feel the same. If enough of them did, the rest wouldn’t have a choice but to see it through. I glanced at Trace. He’d obviously come to the same conclusion as he worried his bottom lip.

“We’ll all have to fight?” he asked.

How will the vote go? Will they have to fight? You can read the rest here and find out how it goes.

Also, if you missed it, I posted Tuesday about looking for beta readers for a different project. I’m still looking for a couple if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

