Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. Dashing this one off quick because this weekend is Homecoming, and we’ll be off for the parade soon. Son is walking with Daddy and the fire department, and we’re hoping the rain will leave and hold off the rest of the day. Not sure if I’ll be able to get to this later. So for now, here’s a little more from Dance with the Devil:

“I was scared, Damon,” he said the words quietly, almost like he wasn’t sure if he wanted to or not. “When I got the text from Smoke that you were hurt, and they were following you in. I mean, obviously you were okay if you could ride, but my initial reaction was still fear.”

“You don’t need to be afraid for me, Hawk. I can handle myself.”

“But, you wouldn’t have been able to if Smoke and Jumper hadn’t ridden in right then. They told me it was three against one. How did you expect to come out on top of that?”

“The same way I always have. By fighting with everything I got.”

no clever commentary today. Just leaving this here.

And Chapter 8 of Come Back Down is up on Wattpad if you want to check that out. Also, I have Healing the Heart, an adult romance about two doctors taking a second(ok, third) chance on love, ready to send to beta readers(I have 1 lined up but would like a couple more). If anyone’s interested in reading and giving some feedback, I’d appreciate it. It’s a little over 80,000 words.

Comments on: "WeWriWa – “I Always Have”" (12)

  1. Diane Burton said:

    I’m curious why he’s in denial. Is he Macho Guy trying to downplay the seriousness of the attack or doesn’t he realize the danger he’s in. Good snippet.

  2. Nice, soul-baring emotion. 🙂

  3. It is really hard to make him see reason, isn’t it?

  4. So he’s saying he doesn’t think he needs the help? If that’s true — hard to tell from just ten sentences — he’s not being very realistic.

    • He’s trying to convince Hawk, and himself, that he could have handled it. Not that either of them truly believes that.

  5. A good solid conversation, well done snippet!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

