Home of a mother, wife, writer

I’ve been able to settle back into a more normal routine this week. A lot of writing done as well as some editing and plotting. And we even went to the kids’ open house at school last night. Hoping I can keep up this routine for a while. For now, I have the next chapter of Come Back Down up on Wattpad. Here’s the beginning of it:

It was amazing to watch Trace draw. Something came alive in him, that I had only caught a few brief glimpses of before. This was different than the light that came on when we touched each other. That was switched on by lust, but this was something deeper, something more.

His hand seemed to fly over the sheet of paper as a picture developed. He’d go back and move a line or shade something else in. I was mesmerized by the time he finished the first one. I looked at it as Trace started on the next one. “I don’t know him.”

“I don’t, either,” Icarus admitted. “I’ll show it to the others. One of them might.”

“He didn’t have a rank patch,” Trace said.

Icarus headed to the door with the first sketch, but he stopped and turned back. “You remember which ones do?”

Trace dipped his head, but his hand didn’t stop moving over the paper. “I have a good memory for things I see. Not photographic but probably close. Henry always said it was creepy and freaked him out.”

Icarus’ fist clenched at the mention of that man’s name. I couldn’t blame him for that reaction. Not after everything Trace’s stepfather had done. “Nothing about you is creepy, Trace. Keep his words out of your head.”

Trace’s head dipped again, but this time it wasn’t a nod, it was shame. I squeezed his hand that didn’t hold the pencil and felt him squeeze back after a moment.

“Whichever names and ranks you remember,” Icarus said, “put them with the sketch. Do you know his?”

“Mace.”

Icarus took out another pencil, set the paper against the door, and wrote the name under the sketch. Then, he left the room.

“He’s upset with me now,” Trace murmured.

“No,” I assured him. “Not with you. He hates he didn’t get you from that situation sooner. There’s nothing he can do to get rid of all the thoughts that nasty man put in your head. He’d never be upset with you for something you didn’t have control over.”

The corners of his mouth tipped up. “You’re good, you know that? At getting into a man’s mind and sorting out their thoughts. You ever think…”

“What? I asked. I hated when he didn’t finish a thought.

He gave a little shrug and focused on his sketch. “Just wondering if you’d ever thought about going on to college for something like that. Like therapy, you know. I bet you’d be good at it.”

Now, it was my turn to duck my head. I had thought about college, but it had always been a vague thing. I hadn’t had a traditional education, but I had the equivalent to a diploma. I could apply to colleges if I’d wanted to.

I didn’t know if I wanted to.

If you want to read the rest of the chapter, you find it here.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

