Home of a mother, wife, writer

Friday, my husband and I had our 10 year anniversary. We didn’t do much that day, just went out to eat with the kids and got groceries, like we tend to do on Fridays. Earlier that day, I’d taken the kids to the doctor for their yearly check-ups. My daughter may be the only child I know who has a total meltdown because I’m taking her out of school early. But, both are healthy and growing on the same curve they always have(basically the girl is short & skinny and the boy is tall & skinny). I’m just glad I ended up not having to re-schedule it due to jury duty. If you missed my post on Wednesday, I was excused from the one trial, and had to call in Tuesday night, but by then all the others had been settled, so I came home.

Yesterday, we took the kids to my mother-in-law’s in the afternoon and dropped them off with their sleeping bags and clothes. And we headed the rest of the way up to Erie. Husband had asked me if I wanted to take one of my boxes of books to the used bookstore. Do I want to go to the bookstore? And on our anniversary. Does he know me or what? So, I took my little box in(maybe 10 books in it), and came out with 3 new books in it. Then, we went to the movie theater and saw The Secret Life of Pets. Yep, we went to see an animated movie when we didn’t have the kids. But, it was good. He’d wanted to see Sully, but I really wanted something that would make me laugh. Then, after going to Target to buy a new shower curtain for the kids’ bathroom, we went to Applebee’s. And my husband surprises me by telling the hostess we’re meeting a group there. Well, he’d invited my best friend and her husband to have dinner with us. It was a very nice surprise since I don’t see her very often(it’s probably been a year since I’ve seen her), and we had a good time.

My progress this week really wasn’t great. I did get some stuff done at least.

  • Shed Some Light – finish first draft – I did get this done! I wrote 4830 words this week on it. – She’d wanted to check her brother out without the pressure of actually talking to him. Tereza could understand that. She’d like to be able to do the same with her mother. Instead she’d been avoiding the issue entirely
  • I also wrote:
    • Closing Time – 1950 words – Cam must have stared at the door for a full five minutes after Gio let himself out. That man twisted him up something awful. he could hardly think when Gio was around. But, he couldn’t think of anything else but being with him when he was gone. He might as well not have a brain at this point.
    • Break on Me – 971 words – It was probably something he should talk about. But, not right now and maybe not to her. She wasn’t his shrink, and she didn’t want to be. She just wanted to be with him.
    • In the Moonlight – 1212 words – I didn’t know what to say to that. I knew what she meant, of course. Just because I hadn’t done it didn’t mean I hadn’t read about it. I was just glad Mom had never found those books.
    • Defending the Heart – 1278 words – Piers Quincey was usually quite comfortable in a suit. So, why couldn’t he stop pulling at his tie and shifting his shoulders in the confines of the jacket? It just didn’t make any sense. When Alex’s sister said something that was supposed to be funny, he made himself laugh. It was the best he could do.
    • Story a Day: wrote the first 3 days of this week then kind of dropped off. Might try to pick it back up this week, but we’ll see.
  • Stained by Ashes – format & publish – done & DONE! I got it up Friday afternoon and it was live by the time we got home from getting groceries. It’s only available on Amazon for the time being, as I’m running these through KDP Select, so you can also borrow it for free through Kindle Unlimited. And the first book Stained Snow is free through Monday if you haven’t read that yet.
  • Toby & Denise – finish Toby’s back story – I got Toby’s done. Haven’t even started on Denise’s yet, though.
  • Side projects – add 500 words each to Dance with the Devil & Snow White Twist – Not quite on either. I didn’t quite get even 500 between them.
    • Dance with the Devil – 259 words – Medusa tried to push me back to my pillow and said something about a pill, but I wasn’t having either. I wouldn’t take this lying down.
    • Snow White Twist – 236 words – She pulled back even though she didn’t want to let the other girl go yet. But, even the other girl’s eyes looked dazed. So, if this was a spell, they were likely under the same one.
  • Read: Writing Active Hooks: Book 1 – finish – I got this done. I already have the second book in this series, so I’ll start it on Monday
  • Listen: Empire of Storms(probably won’t finish) – I still have probably 8 hours left on this. Really loving it, though. It’s just long, and I didn’t have as much time to listen as I usually do.
  • Read: Finish Always on My Mind(Bella Andre), Hot Property(Carly Phillips), A Geek Girl’s Guide to Murder(Julie Anne Lindsey), Blightlore(Krista Walsh), The Darkest Hour(Maya Banks), Grave Touched(Erin Zarro), The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie(Jennifer Ashley), and More Happy Than Not(Adam Silvera) – I finished Always on My Mind, but couldn’t get into Hot Property. But, I really enjoyed A Geek Girl’s Guide to Murder. I’m 61% through Blightlore right now. I didn’t read as much while I was trying to get Stained by Ashes all wrapped up. Hoping to get more of that done this week, though.

As I look through that, it wasn’t as bad as I thought. Mostly the reading that kind of fell off. For now, I’m going to be concentrating on one major goal, and once I finish that and everything else on my list for the day, I’ll work on the other projects if I have time. For the moment, Closing Time is my next major project.

  • Write – 13000 words(10000 towards Closing Time)
  • Edit – Polish Healing the Heart(if anyone’s interested in beta reading this, let me know)
  • Plot – Toby & Denise: Write Denise’s back story
  • Side Projects – Add 2500 words between projects
  • Read: Writing Active Hooks: Book 2 – 50%
  • Listen: Empire of Storms & Obsessed(T.R. Ragan)
  • Read: Finish Blightlore(Krista Walsh), The Darkest Hour(Maya Banks), Grave Touched(Erin Zarro), The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie(Jennifer Ashley), More Happy Than Not(Adam Silvera), Cut Both Ways(Carrie Mesrobian), Start Me Up(Victoria Dahl), An Ember in the Ashes(Sabaa Tahir), The Chief(Monica McCarty), & Still the One(Jill Shalvis)
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Anniversary Weekend" (12)

  1. Just bought my copy of SbA – and kind of wanting to put everything else aside and read it, except that wouldn’t be “fair” to the other books that have been waiting longer! =)

    Happy anniversary! Sounds like a lovely time, and your husband is a sweetie for thinking to invite your best friend. Lise and I saw “Pets” for her birthday in July. It really was quite funny, with enough adult-level humor that I was well-entertained. “Sully” sounds amazing, but with the budget pretty limited, we’ll probably wait for it to come to Amazon or Netflix.

    Looks like you had a good week for a chaotic one. Cam cracks me up, and I love that trance bit from the Snow White Twist.

    I’m caught up with #STaD except for today (story’s rolling around in my head, waiting for me to get to writing group in an hour or so). Posting them is another matter entirely; it totally fell off before Corki died a week ago, and I’ve had no real desire to even make the effort since (and I’m not posting the Hamilton stories, because I may submit portions, and they need to be unpublished for that. =)

    • I hope you enjoy it whenever you get to it. Your feedback certainly helped make it better.
      Thanks! It was a pretty good day.
      It was definitely a good week considering everything else going on. It just took me writing it all down to see that. I’m glad you like Cam. He made some bad decisions in an earlier book, and he’s still trying to make that right. but, he really is a sweetie.
      I wrote more of the Snow White twist for today’s Story a Day. I’m not going to worry about catching up on the ones I missed, just picking back up with today’s and going from there.

      • That sounds like a good plan. I’m still doing my stories, though I’m a few days behind (just started the 24th; but I should have some time tomorrow and Wednesday, and I might get caught up – I’m clearing up some admin-type things now, and letting my mind simmer a bit. I can feel the stories rising in me…

        Bad decisions don’t make a person bad. I’m rooting for Cam!

      • I’ve missed 5 stories this month, but I’m hoping to finish out the month strong.
        It certainly doesn’t. But, those bad decisions are still haunting him. I’ve shattered Cam & Gio, so now it’s time to put them back together. 🙂

  2. Happy anniversary!

  3. Happy anniversary. Sounds like it was lovely.

  4. Happy anniversary! Hubby and I are hitting our 10-year anniversary of our first date in October!

    Congrats on finishing Shed Some Light!

    You made great progress! Still some blue there. 😉

    I downloaded a copy of Stained Snow. It sounds really good!

    And congrats on getting Stained by Ashes up on Amazon! So many good things!

    • Thanks! My best friend’s anniversary is actually later this month, it’ll be their 9th though.
      Thanks, I really liked writing Carlos & Tereza’s story but glad it’s done for now, too.
      I hope you enjoy it!

  5. Happy anniversary, Fallon! And congrats on publishing Stained by Ashes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

