Home of a mother, wife, writer

Sunday Summary: Unsettled

At least that’s what my routine is right now. On Thursday, I decided what I’d been doing wasn’t actually working for me. And simply writing/editing/plotting through the morning would work better. And I could get through the rest of the stuff after lunch. I think this will work better, though I have to figure out just how that writing/editing/plotting will fall. I have ideas…They just aren’t going to work for this week. Because I have to report for jury duty. I’ll be leaving tonight to stay at my mom’s, since it’s a lot closer to the courthouse(we only live a few miles from the county line, so are almost in the next county). Which means my husband will have to get the kids up and on the bus in the morning and our neighbor will be watching them after school until he gets home from work. And I won’t have a lot of time for writing. So, my weekly goal list was kind of short. I’m still going to write first thing in the morning, but that will probably be mostly concentrated on my Story a Day pieces, which I’ve been trying to use my current projects for those. And I’m close to finishing the first draft of Shed Some Light. Hopefully I’ll be able to do that this week, too.

AND…I’m trying to get Stained by Ashes published. I put the finishing touches on the cover this morning. I have to import it from word to scrivener(my Surface that I use doesn’t support scrivener, but I still have my laptop, so I have it on there), so I can get it all formatted the way I like. I could probably figure out how to do it in Word, but scrivener practically does all the work for you. So, I’m going to try to get that ready and up on Amazon before I head to my mom’s tonight. We’ll see how much time I have once I get everything else done today. But, here’s a sneak peek at the cover:

fallonrb-72dpi-1500x20004

Designed by: SelfPubBookCovers.com/SFcovers

I may still make some changes to the wording/font if anyone has any feedback.

Anyway, getting on with my progress for the week so I can get to all that other stuff:

  • Write 15000 words – This didn’t happen this week. The words just weren’t flowing that fast. I’m thinking my new routine will help when I can get to it. I managed 9353/15000 words. And some of those were from my Story a Day pieces, not necessarily the next scenes. I wrote 2 for Closing Time that won’t come until near the end, but I counted them anyway.
    • Shed Some Light -4437 words – There was still that small dark spot in his heart, knowing how close he’d come to losing her, and the worry he was wrong and still could. But, she had woken up, told him to shut up and that she loved him. Everything was going to be all right. It had to be.
    • Closing Time – 4483 words – “I wouldn’t have thought…he comes off as such an alpha asshole.”Gio laughed again and leaned into Cam. “Alpha, yes, until Caitie comes around. Not an asshole, no. A little rough sometimes, but he’s got a good heart.” *they’re talking about Gio’s new brother-in-law here. You might remember Mark from snippets I posted from Flames of Retribution, and yeah, he can come off that way.
  • Story a Day – write 7 stories – 7/7 done I was able to work one of the Shed Some Light into the actual WiP. And the two Closing Time ones, you see the mirrors of Cam & Gio’s families. and Held My Heart is actually pre-In the Moonlight, by about 150 years. But, it ties into the current story a bit, too.
  • Stained by Ashes – Finish proofreading, get cover, & format – proofreading is done, cover is (likely) done, just have to format it and get it up there
  • Toby & Denise – Write Toby’s back story, start Denise’s back story – made a little more progress on Toby’s back story. Still not finished, though.
  • Side Projects – 2000 words – 1429 words/2000. Not so much. I did manage at least 100 words on each of them, though.
    • Dance with the Devil – 829 words – Hawk stared at me for a moment then shook his head. “Sometimes you can be such an idiot, Damon. I’ll go get Medusa.”
    • Snow White Twist – 112 words – But, she’d hold on to this until it slipped through her fingers.
    • Patrick & Sarah – 190 words – But, she’d had a husband. And when he’d died, he’d left her with only grief and two young boys to raise.
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 126 words – She was just a little slip of a girl, about half the size of him. How could she think she could protect him, especially from a fall? *Oh, Tavin, you’ve got a lot to learn.
    • Roman – “I thought you were his lawyer. You’re supposed to be helping him.”“And I can’t do that by lying for him. There are some indisputable facts. He had a gun. There were several bodies on the ground around him. He had blood on him.”
  • Read: Writing Active Hooks: Book 1 – get to 65% – did manage to do this.
  • Listen: Lord John & The Private Matter(Diana Gabaldon) & Empire of Storms(Sarah J. Maas) – finished Lord John & The Private Matter. Almost 8 hours into Empire of Storms(out of 25).
  • Read: Finish Summer Court(SM Reine), Dirty Deeds(Megan Erickson), Fire Inside(Kristen Ashley), Fall Deep(Zoe York), Always on My Mind(Bella Andre), Hot Property(Carly Phillips), A Geek Girl’s Guide to Murder(Julie Anne Lindsey) – I finished Summer Court, Dirty Deeds, added in Loving You Easy & finished it in a day, Fire Inside(had quite a few problems with this one, particularly the alpha asshole lead – which may have led to that line in Closing Time), and Fall Deep. I’m about 65% through Always on My Mind. Should finish it today and moving the others to next week.

As for my goals for next week:

  • Shed Some Light – finish first draft
  • Stained by Ashes – format & publish
  • Toby & Denise – finish Toby’s back story
  • Side projects – add 500 words each to Dance with the Devil & Snow White Twist
  • Read: Writing Active Hooks: Book 1 – finish
  • Listen: Empire of Storms(probably won’t finish)
  • Read: Finish Always on My Mind(Bella Andre), Hot Property(Carly Phillips), A Geek Girl’s Guide to Murder(Julie Anne Lindsey), Blightlore(Krista Walsh), The Darkest Hour(Maya Banks), Grave Touched(Erin Zarro), The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie(Jennifer Ashley), and Mora Happy Than Not(Adam Silvera)

 

 

Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Unsettled" (16)

  1. OMG, you’re going to read Grave Touched! Awesome! I hope you like it. 🙂

    It’s really hard to stay with your routine when you’re in a different place. I find that happens when camping. I want to write, but sometimes I don’t feel up to it. But sometimes it’s b/c I’m not in my normal routine, in my home office, and I’m truly a creature of habit that way. I need to be more open to these things. I’m working on it. 😉

    All in all, nice work with your goals. 🙂

    • I hope I do too! 😉 (I’m sure I will!)
      I did get some writing in this morning, so there was that. And I got excused from this jury, but I may need to go back in on Wednesday, so I’m staying down here until at least Tuesday night(I have to call in then & find out if I need to go back in or not).
      Thanks!

  2. Oh, and I love the cover!

    • Thanks! I had trouble finding one for this one. Not because there wasn’t anything, just wasn’t sure any of them were “perfect”. But, I did like this one.

  3. I hope your jury duty goes quickly. It’s so hard to write when you have stuff like that hanging over your head.

    Love that cover!

    • Well, I’ve been excused from one jury, but have to call in tomorrow night in case they need me to come back in Wednesday. Fingers crossed I won’t have to.
      Thanks!

  4. Gotta love scrivener writing app. Passes on some good vibes and banishes the evil juju to the land of ghosts and spirits.

    • I really do. Wish I could put it on this computer so I didn’t have to transfer files from one to the other.

      • Yeah, transferring stuff from one’s computer to three usb flash drives, one external hard drive is a chore. At least i got my writings stashed safe and sound. 🙂 The daily ritual of stashing stuff away.

  5. Oh, that cover! It FITS. It’s lovely – it made me swoon a little. The only thing I’d suggest is to darken the logline it the top. My forty-seven year old eyes had to squint and big-time enlarge it to read, even with my reading glasses on.

    I can’t wait to purchase my copy and see all the bettering you’ve done.

    I’m unsettled too. On Sunday, our Corki-dog died peacefully in the backyard. He was sick for a few weeks, and he’d stopped eating, even his favorite, cheese, two days before. He’s not suffering anymore – but I miss him, and it’s hard to focus on things…so not so much happening beyond my stories, which are running just a bit behind.

    I watched some Firefly and took some naps.

    • Thanks. I was having trouble finding one that really did fit. Went through quite a few possible ones.
      So sorry about your dog. That’s always a rough time, even when you know they aren’t hurting anymore.
      I got excused from one jury yesterday(all the anxious fidgeting probably helped and I’m really glad because of what the case was). But, I have to call in tonight b/c they might need jurors for another case. But hopefully I’ll be back home by tomorrow.

      • I hope you’re home by now. It must be hard to be away. I’m glad that you didn’t have to serve on the jury for a disturbing case.

      • I made it home last night. The message service didn’t update until an hour after it was supposed to, but all the rest of the cases were settled, so they didn’t need more jurors. It was nice sleeping in my own bed again and getting back to my own routine. The puppy was glad to see me, though the kids claimed they didn’t miss me. :p Think they were trying to get a rise out of me(little stinkers. haha)

      • I’ll bet those young’uns missed you more than they let on. They are at ages where it’s fun to say you don’t need parents! =)

  6. Congrats on being so close to having Stained by Ashes out in the world. The cover looks good.

    You mentioned new routines. I’ve been changing stuff up too. Autumn is a restless season, a good time to shake things up a little.

    • Thanks! I’m hoping to have it up by Friday.
      I always seem to have trouble settling into one way of doing things. Though I guess it’s probably better to be flexible anyway.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

