Home of a mother, wife, writer

We’re nearing the end of summer. Just a couple more days and my kids go back to school. Nope. Not counting down the hours. Not at all. 😉

For now, I’ve put the next chapter of Come Back Down up on Wattpad. A little warning for this one, there is mention of past sexual abuse in this chapter. In case that’s triggering for you and you want to avoid it. Anyway, here’s the first part of the chapter:

I wrapped my arms a little tighter around Trace’s waist, my legs hugging his hips, as he took a sharp curve in the road. We’d stayed in town for nearly another five hours. Even after we handed out the last of the bundles and baskets. There were so many who needed help with things around the house. Things they couldn’t do themselves, didn’t have the time to do, since many worked at least two jobs, and could barely afford to hire out. That’s what this whole thing started as shortly after Dad joined the Riders.

I always wondered if one of those he helped was my mother. From what he knew, what he’d told me, she’d lived in this neighborhood before I was born. That was the first time he’d helped her, when she was still pregnant with me. That led her to leaving me on his doorstep when I was nearly four months old, and she realized she could no longer take care of me.

Probably the best thing she’d ever done in her life.

Trace set his hand on my knee, and I wondered if he’d felt me tense up. Thinking about this always filled me with that tension. I didn’t know a lot about my mom, other than her name, but Icarus had never hidden any of it from me. She’d come to see me once, when I was a lot younger, but he’d never heard anything from her again. Legally, I was Icarus’ daughter. By abandoning me, my mother had given up all rights to me. She couldn’t take me back from him, and I’d never worried much about it. Now, I was eighteen, so it wouldn’t matter anyway.

Trace squeezed my knee, and I hugged him a little tighter, letting him know I was okay. I pushed all thoughts of my mother out of my head, so I could enjoy the rest of the ride back to the clubhouse.

When Trace stopped the bike in front of the garage, I slipped off and pulled my helmet off then waited for him. As soon as his helmet was off, I stepped forward and his arms came around me. I pressed against him, hip to hip, as his mouth crushed against mine. I loved the thrill of the ride. I had to say, this was the best part. I already felt how revved up he was by all of it.

And that’s all you get for now! I’m so mean. 😉 If you want to read the rest, you can find it here or catch up on the first two chapters.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

