Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: The Smart Thing

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil, though skipping ahead a little bit. Here’s 8 sentences from chapter 3.

I probably shouldn’t have gone to town. It’s not like we’d been told to stay away. But, I was already in quite a mood. From that messed up vote, to that last altercation with Hawk, and everything else that always seemed to mess up my mind.

We were supposed to do patrols together. They hadn’t said anything about not coming to town by ourselves. Still, it probably would have been a smart thing to buddy up even for that.

No one had ever accused me of always, or ever, doing the smart thing.

What’s going to happen in town? Was he smart to come in on his own? Or maybe not so smart? Wait and you might find out.

Short post today, as we’ll be heading out for breakfast and to look at a new motorcycle then off to a surprise birthday party. So, not much time today. But, I’ve also put the second chapter of Come Back Down up on wattpad if you want to check that out.

 

Comments on: "WeWriWa: The Smart Thing" (16)

  1. It is one thing knowing your weakness, and another resisting it. Guaranteed, staying away was the ‘right’ choice!
    Super snippet, Fallon.

  2. Why do I have this feeling that the “figuring out” is going to be catastrophic? I’ve missed a few of these lately, but I love Devi’s voice. =)

  3. I have a sneaky suspicion things are not going to go well. 😉

  4. Sounds ominous, as though being on his own is a really, really bad idea.

  5. Heh, I enjoy his voice. And a nice hook. :3 I wonder how going to town alone will work out for him. XD

  6. Karen Michelle Nutt said:

    No, don’t go alone. It can’t be a good idea.

  7. I wonder why she thinks she wasn’t supposed to go to town … especially by herself?

    • They’ve been having trouble with rivals, which is why they’re always paired up for patrols. And he knows all the reasons for that.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

