Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: Walk Away

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. It’s been a busy weekend for me, starting last night with a motorcycle ride honoring a member of our club who died a few years ago. The ride raises money for the drug and alcohol coalition. Today we left early for another ride that raises money for the cancer department of a local hospital. We put in almost 300 miles on the bike this weekend.

Anyway, I have some more of Dance with the Devil for you this weekend. This is skipping to the end of the scene I shared from last week. Devil has just said something rather cutting because something Trace said to him basically scared him. 10 sentences.

“Right. Whatever,” Trace said, turning for the door. “I’ll go. Just thought you should know.”

“No, really, I’m sorry,” I said again. “I didn’t mean that.”

Trace looked back at me. “Maybe you should start thinking about what you really mean before you open your mouth and end up alienating every single person who cares about you.”

I knew he was right, but I didn’t try to stop him from walking out by telling him that. I was used to letting people walk away from me.

I’ll probably be skipping a little farther ahead for next week’s too. I have made a lot of progress on this story this week. probably at least halfway through.

I also started posting Come Back Down(book 2 in this series) up on Wattpad. Chapter 1 is up there right now if you want to read.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: Walk Away" (8)

  1. Sometimes letting go is easier than holding on.

    Awesome work with the fundraising and cycle ride, Fallon. Stuff like that really matters.

  2. Sounds like he’s learning a few things about himself!

  3. Being used to letting go sounds a lot like giving up though…sad.

  4. Oooh, I love that final line: “I was used to letting people walk away from me.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

