Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: Try Real Hard

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. We’ve got a pretty packed weekend, not all of it happy. We’ve got to take the motorcycle in to get it inspected this morning, then we have a family reunion. It’s just down the driveway from our house, so at least if I get overwhelmed, I can escape easily enough. Then, we have the funeral for a member of the motorcycle club we’re a part of. He was in an accident Monday and died early Thursday morning. Tomorrow is my daughter’s 9th birthday party. So, I have to find some time to make cupcakes and get everything else ready. The rest of the month is going to be just about as busy(at least on the weekends). Should start slowing down sometime after Labor day at least.

Anyway, still sharing from Dance with the Devil for this week. I have 10 more sentences following a little after last week’s.

I released the chain and let the door swing all the way open. “What? Did Daddy send you over to check up on me?”

Trace just stood there, staring at me. “Do you try real hard to be offensive, Devil? Or does it just come natural as an asshole?”

I stared at him for a moment, then a laugh burst out of me. I closed the door just enough to unlatch it then opened again. “Might as well come in. Since you’re here and all.”

What is Trace doing there? Why does Devil try to piss people off? Why does he think it’s funny to be called an asshole? May answer some of those another time. Or not. 😉

Comments on: "WeWriWa: Try Real Hard" (8)

  1. Devil does seem to enjoy pissing people off, or yes, maybe it just comes naturally. Great dialogue!

  2. In this short snippet, I felt a glimpse of a long relationship between these two.

    • actually, they’ve only known each other a few months or so, and haven’t particularly liked each other in that time. That may change a bit, though.

  3. The banter between the two is pretty entertaining. Look forward to next week’s snippet!

  4. For some reason I was confused by her being able to open the door fully after taking the chain off in the beginning, then having to close to unlatch it a second time at the end. Probably just me. Their attitude toward each other was crystal clear though! Good snippet!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

