Home of a mother, wife, writer

I’ve been working on a time goal for the last few weeks. And it’s worked for the most part. But, I’ve started to sit there during the time I should be writing, just staring at the screen. So, my word counts for the hour I spend working on each project are coming in a lot lower than usual. So, I’ve decided to go back to a word count goal. I’m still working on each of my projects every day. Going for a combined total of 3000 words a day. I start out with that spread evenly across each of the projects(so 600 words/project). Then, as I write, I adjust, since it’s likely I won’t write that exact amount. Yesterday I wrote over 1100 words each on 2 different projects because the words were rolling on both. I’ve been working on them in order of which is closest to being done. But, I think I may switch that around for next week, so I have the higher word goal on the ones that are further behind. And I’ll adjust the day’s count if I write more or less for the day. Like Monday(before I started this plan), I only wrote about 2400 words. So, yesterday’s total goal was about 3600 words(I actually wrote almost 4k on these projects). I’ve only done this for one day, so we’ll see if it continues to work.

Those are my word goals from yesterday, not actual word counts

Those are my word goals from yesterday, not actual word counts

For now, it’s WiPPet Wednesday time, which means time for another snippet from one of these projects. Sharing from Shed Some Light since that’s what I’m working on as I type this up. I have 9 paragraphs(2+7) from some of what I wrote yesterday.

Her shoulders fell at that, and she dropped her head back to his chest. “Please don’t do this,” she said. “It’s not up to you to stop him. I need you here. I need you with me.”

He took a step back from her at that. “You’ve never needed me, Reza. You’ve made that perfectly clear over the years.”

He wanted to take the words back as soon as he’d said them. He didn’t know what he would have done the past few days without her. How he would have survived. And maybe that made this old wound ache even more. He needed her, but did she really need him? Or would all he ever do be to drag her down? He couldn’t stand to think it.

Tereza took a quick step back from him, and he could see the pain in her eyes. “You know that isn’t true, Carlos. You chose to stay away as much as I did. I made a promise, and I felt I had to keep it.”

“A promise to who?”

“It doesn’t matter. If you can even say that to me, you obviously don’t know me very well. So, I guess maybe I should just go.”

“Reza.”

He didn’t know what else to say, though, and she was grabbing her coat from the hook beside his door then reaching for her purse. Then, she turned back. “You may be an idiot, Carlos, but I still love you. Which is the only reason I would have broken my promise now. I guess it didn’t mean anything, though.”

He couldn’t do anything but say her name again. Why didn’t he tell her he was sorry, that he hadn’t meant it, any of it? But, no, he just stood there like an idiot.

What promise did Tereza make? To who? What does this mean for them now?

Now, on to my progress so far this week:

  • Write 14045 words between 5 projects – 7553 words. A little more than halfway and not done for the day yet.
    • Protecting the Heart – 2131 words – This is now at 75% complete, which means I can start brainstorming the next one, Piers & Xavier’s story. Woohoo!
    • Closing Time – 1303 words
    • Shed Some Light – 2235 words
    • Break on Me – 1017 words
    • In the Moonlight – 1065 words
  • Stained by Ashes – Compile Beta Notes as I receive them back – nothing yet
  • Dance with the Devil – 910 words – 356 words
  • Snow White Twist – 990 words – 273 words
  • Come Back Down: Search & Destroy – weekend project
  • Read: Romancing the Beat – Finish – at 92%
  • Listen: Dead Weight(TR Ragan) & Nothing Like Love(Abigal Strom) – finished Dead Weight(really enjoyed) and a little more than halfway through Nothing Like Love(liking it).
  • Read: Strong Signal(Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell), Anything More than Now(Rebecca Paula), Better When It Hurts(Skye Warren), Fight For Me(Sharon Page), The Girl at Midnight(Melissa Grey), Down & Dirty(Liliana Hart), & Saddles & Sin(Jessie Evans) – I finished Strong Signal Monday night(LOVED!), and both Anything More than Now & Better When It Hurts yesterday. About 25% through Fight For Me so far this morning(mostly while eating breakfast). I’m actually a day ahead on my reading, since I didn’t plan to start Fight For Me until tomorrow.

Mostly blue & green! And hoping to turn the red into at least green by Sunday.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Adjusting Again" (24)

  1. I really enjoyed the snippet you shared today, Fallon. There’s some really powerful emotion surfacing here, and a hint of suspense. Well done!

    As always, I admire how many projects you’re able to balance, and your word counts are amazing. Congrats!

  2. Wonderful snippet. I really feel for Carlos at the end there.

  3. Loved the snippet.

    Nice progress so far this week!

  4. I love your work plan! I’ve been working exclusively on one project, but I struggle with that style. Your word counts are completely manageable, too. I think when I’m done with this one I may try that.

    Great snippet. I really like these two. I definitely want to know what promise she made and why it led them to where they are now.

    • Thanks! I struggle to focus on only one thing at a time. I’ll be transferring this plan to editing next month and working 3 hours a day on that. And with this, if the words are rolling, I’ll keep writing until I stall out.
      Thanks. I’m glad you like them. And basically, she’s taken the promise further than it was intended. Which will become clear to her soon. 🙂

  5. Awww. 😦 Impulsive words = ouchy feelings. Though it sounds like he really believed them even if he shouldn’t have said them.

  6. I have no idea what promise she made, but it is pretty obvious to me that they are not being honest with each other about their feelings.

    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

  7. I really like how you have the word count divided up. Given how much I bounce between projects, I may have to give that a shot!

    I really liked the snippet. I wonder what the promise was and who she made it to.

  8. I have many a time felt like Carlos does, where you want to say what you’re feeling but just can’t get the words to form or get out. You did a great job of exploring that here and making that the forefront of what’s going on for him. And yes, I’m dying to know all about this promise thing.

    • I feel that way all the time. It’s like there’s a block between my mind and my mouth.
      I write more about the promise yesterday, with her talking to the person she made it to. May share some of that next week

  9. Just yesterday I read of a prolific author who wrote no more than 600 words a day total. And here you are writing at least that much on five separate projects. (I’m going to go and have a nap on your behalf. :D)

    All the best with your goals this coming week.

    TTFN

    • Haha. If I was capable of taking a nap (more than dozing off for a minute or two) there are days where I totally would.
      Thanks!

  10. Naps seem to be a rare thing these days… If I get a chance, I’ll take one for you (like Stephanie offered). I could use the sleep.

    That said… great amounts of green and blue in general. And tomorrow’s another day…

    Hopefully Carlos and Tereza will discover that for themselves too. :-/ Because it seems that neither one of them is giving each other the chance they need to say what they really need to. (Though mostly they aren’t giving themselves that chance… either on purpose, or not.)

    • I’ve never really been able to take a nap. Not sure why that is, but unless I’m really exhausted or take Sudafed/Benadryl(or other drowsy-making meds), I can’t fall asleep during the day.
      I think there’s only one item that won’t be blue on the list, but that’s still pretty good.
      Yeah. They’ll get there, right now they’re still hurting, though, and there’s other stuff going on that’s making it worse.

      • Huh! Naps (or “quiet time” in the afternoon as Grandma used to call it) were mandatory in our family. Well up until I was in my tweens… It could be why I tend to have the mid-day drowsies.

        I hear you on the sleepy meds though. Hopefully you’re still getting rest and energy as you need them…

  11. So sorry it took me so long to get more Chapters to you, but hopefully you do get to make that green now, and I should be speedier this next, not-July month.

    Hope the new system shakes things up for you in just the right way.

    I really want to know what and to whom Tereza made her promise, and whether Carlos can make up to her for saying the worst possible thing.

    • I won’t be working on those until Monday, but it will definitely give me something to do then. 🙂
      It seems to be working so farI’ll be shifting again, though, since it’ll be a new month and this one will be focused on editing.
      I wrote more about that promise on Friday, I may even share a snippet of that this coming week. I will say, he’s someone who’s important to both Tereza and Carlos. And, of course, things will be made right eventually 😉

      • It’s going to be a revision/homeschool administration month for me, too. But I’ll be trying to get in three chapters a week for you, as well. I really want to get through it this month, so you can work your magic on it. =)

        Looking forward to that snippet, if you choose to share – and getting back to my own snippet-sharing, as well, which kind of fell off the radar the last month.

        Hope the shift works out well, when you make it. One of my goals for today is to go through my Round Three goals and start mapping out a plan for August, which snuck up on me this year.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

