Home of a mother, wife, writer

So, I instituted Mellow Monday this week.  I didn’t completely take the day off. I did still wake up early, like usual. And I compiled my beta’s notes for Chapter 12 of Stained by Ashes. Then, I did some writing. I kept with my hour per project. But, instead of forcing myself to focus, I’d write a little bit then read a little bit and back and forth. Obviously my word counts were lower than normal, but I still got 1500 words between 3 of my projects. Then, Tuesday I still felt a little unfocused, but not nearly as much and I managed over 5000 words. Over 1700 of those were on 1 project. Today seems to be falling somewhere between the two. But, forward progress is still being made.

Since today is Wednesday, it’s time to share another snippet. Today, I have 20 sentences from Shed Some Light. It’s the only project I have left to work on today. This is part of what I wrote in that 1700+ word session.

Once Toby had closed the door, Carlos turned on him. “What the hell’s going on? First you drop a bomb on Reza that she’s your sister, now you’re being all cryptic about my own brother. What the hell, Pedera?”

Toby looked past him at Tereza, and she winced. She put a hand on Carlos’ shoulder. “It was more the other way around,” she told him. “I know I was out of sorts last night, but I should have made that more clear. I saw the photo of his mom and recognized her.”

“Our mom,” Toby corrected her.

She would have winced again, but she couldn’t make herself feel guilty for not thinking of her like that. “She abandoned me, not you. I can’t…I just can’t right now. Okay?”

He nodded after a moment. “Okay. But, you should talk to her and listen to her reasons. I did last night.”

Tereza dropped her gaze to the floor. That was the last thing she wanted to think about doing right now.

As for my progress this week:

  • Write 14165 words between 5 projects – 9347 words so far this week.
    • Protecting the Heart – 1980 words
    • Closing Time – 2114 words
    • Shed Some Light – 2406 words
    • Break on Me – 1343 words
    • In the Moonlight – 1504 words
  • Stained by Ashes – Compile Beta notes from Chapter 12(and any more I get back during the week) – Did Chapter 12 on Monday. Waiting on more.
  • Dance with the Devil – 920 words – 912 words. Got so, so close. A lot of those came from one of my Story a Day pieces(It’s Apparent).
  • Snow White Twist – 995 words – Nothing yet this week
  • Come Back Down – Revisions – Nothing yet. Weekend Project
  • Read: Romancing the Beat – 80% – at 65%
  • Listen: George(Alex Gino) & Wrong Number, Right Guy(Elle Casey) – finished George on Monday. Really enjoyed this. Have less than an hour left on Wrong Number, Right Guy. Really enjoying it.
  • Read: Finish Tough Love(Lori Foster), Officer Off Limits(Tessa Bailey), Always on My Mind(Jill Shalvis), Thorn Fall(Lindsay Buroker), Into Elurien(Kate Sparkes), Caged in Bone(S.M. Reine), The Everlasting Circle(Juliana Haygert), & Wish Come True(various) – I finished Tough Love(enjoyed) and Officer Off Limits(also enjoyed) and Aways on My Mind(Loved). About 19% through Thorn Fall.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Mellowing" (17)

  1. I don’t know how you keep on top of so many projects! I know I couldn’t. And talk about some drama! I kinda really want to back it up and read the moment when the bomb drops about their mom. It’d be super interesting and tension-riddled I bet.

    • I’ve tried only working on one project at a time, but it never seems to last for long. My mind just seems to bounce around too much.
      Oh, it was definitely tense. Considering it was already a tense situation, things got even more so once they realized this connection.

  2. Oh my. Family drama! Poor Tereza. 😦

  3. That’s quite a reveal! I feel for Tereza here. I hope she’s able to get to a point where she can get some answers.

    • It was quite a surprise to them. Eventually, I’m sure she will. Right now they have some more pressing matters to deal with(and I’m evil enough not to say what those are. 😉 haha)

  4. Oh. Waiting for more chapters from your beta….ummmm…..hopefully by the end of the weekend. I’m sure I’ll get through them, but Internet will be scarce. It might be Monday again before I can send them.

    But they will come.

    This is an intriguing snippet. I’m starting to be really intrigued by these two, and worried about what’s up with Carlos’ brother.

    You’ve had a good week thus far!

    • That’s fine. I’ve got lots of stuff to keep me busy in the meantime. 🙂
      You’d have good reason to be worried. Things aren’t going well for him.
      Thanks!

  5. Erg. Poor Tereza. My husband’s father basically ditched him and his bio sisters. Made no effort to get visitation rights let alone partial custody and made no secret of not caring what happened with them. They have this one step-sister who likes to gush about what a great father he was to her. It’s disgusting. On the other hand, his mom gave a baby up for adoption because she had already been homeless with my husband and his full-sister on multiple occasions and recognized she could not take care of another child. I hope Tereza’s mom is toward that end of the scale.

    • yeah, their mom was not in a good place and thought she was doing the best thing though may not have gone about it the best way. She also didn’t realize she was pregnant again at the time. Let’s just say, Toby didn’t exactly have a great early life, either.

  6. That last line… oooofff! But it definitely did what it was meant to–I wanna read more!!!! 😉

    I’m seeing a LOT more progress this week. Maybe Mellow Monday should be a “thing”!

    • Glad you want to know more. My job here is done.(ok, It isn’t, since I still have to finish the first draft. hah)
      Definitely good progress. I’ve actually just finished all my writing goals for the week(except the one side project, but I’ll be getting to that this afternoon). Woohoo!

      • Woohoo is right! I think I’ll borrow that “mellow” day from your playbook if this starts becoming a trend.

  7. Awesome progress, Fallon. I saw that you’re posting some of your stuff on Wattpad. How has the response been?

    • Thanks! There hasn’t been much of a response, really. Probably part of that is because I suck at putting the word out. I’m going to post the next story in the series, too, and try to do better with that.

  8. It’s easy for him to say that Reza should just listen to thier mother’s reasons. Even if they are good ones, it’s not easy to get over being/feeling abandoned.

    • yeah, and he does kind of understand that. He didn’t exactly have an easy childhood with his mother, so he has his own issues there. I’ll be writing his story next, so some of this will bleed over into that one.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

