Home of a mother, wife, writer

The weather was pretty nice over the weekend, other than some rain we got while we were out. This week, it’s been in the high 80s and extremely humid. So, I’ve been turning the A/C units on in the living room & dining room. And mostly hiding out in the house. Supposed to be getting thunderstorms tomorrow. Maybe that will cool things off.

I seem to be falling into a trend of getting distracted on Mondays and starting the week behind. This week, it was because I was looking up a detail for Closing Time I thought I’d mentioned at the end of Burning Bright. Didn’t find it there, so thought maybe it was somewhere in Some Fools Never Learn. Read all the way through that and didn’t find it there, either. and by that time, I’d lost all motivation to even write. I think part of it was that I was still so drained from the overly social weekend. So, I took the rest of the day to just read. I only wrote 1k on Monday, but I wrote over 5k on Tuesday. I decided to write an hour on each of my projects instead of working through one until I reach the weekly goal. this way if I am having trouble with one, I can move on to something else after a certain amount of time. And I can usually get between 500-1000(or a little more) written in that time.

Today is Wednesday, so that means, before I lay out all my RoW80 progress, it’s time for WiPPet Wednesday! Woohoo! And today, I have more from In the Moonlight for you. Last time, Yasmin was flirting with Nola and leaving her a bit flustered. Today, I have 20 sentences(7+13) of the next chapter, which is from Nola’s POV. Also, Teagen is Nola’s older sister. Bailey is the groundkeeper for the house Yasmin’s aunt owned(and passed down to her now) and where Nola’s mom worked(and Nola and her siblings grew up).

I shouldn’t let Yasmin get to me so much. I’d imagined the way she’d been looking at me as she’d swum on her back. It didn’t have anything to do with me.

And the offer she made…I shook my head hard at myself. So, she wanted to teach me to swim. It didn’t mean anything. She just thought it would be a good skill to have. Because she was so good at it.

But, she hadn’t had Teagen throw her into the pool when she was six and didn’t have a clue how to swim. If Bailey hadn’t been walking by the door that led out into the yard from the pool room, I probably would have drowned. And Teagen just laughed when he’d pulled me out.

I shuddered just remembering about it. She hadn’t even been punished for that. She’d claimed she was trying to teach me to swim and wouldn’t have let me drown. Mom believed her even though I never did. She probably wouldn’t have let me drown, but it had nothing to do with teaching me a skill. She was always doing things like that to scare me.

I didn’t think that would be Yasmin’s way to teach me how to swim. But, after that one time, I’d never been able to bring myself to get in the water again. There was no way I was going to tell Yasmin that, though, and let her know just how much of a coward I was.

Would Yasmin really think that?(She has her own beef with Teagen, so not likely). Will Nola stop talking herself out of admitting the truth(for a little while yet, yeah, probably). πŸ˜€

  • Write 14500 words between 5 projects – 9977/14500 words so far. Still on track to meet my goal despite the slow start on Monday.
    • Protecting the Heart – 724 words
    • Closing Time – 2487 words
    • Shed Some Light – 2113 words
    • Break on Me – 1952 words
    • In the Moonlight – 1893 words
  • Stained by Ashes – compile beta notes for chapters 9 &10(more if I get them back during the week) – I got both of these done.
  • Dance with the Devil – write 935 words – 494 words so far this week.
  • Snow White Twist – write 995 words – 314 words so far this week
  • Come Back Down – continue read through(currently through ch 6) nothing more yet this week.
  • RoW80 Sponsor Post – Submit – this is done
  • Read: Romancing the Beat – get to 55% – I’m at 42% right now
  • Listen: Fool for Love(Marie Force) – finished this yesterday. I liked it better than the first book(which I felt the hero was *too* perfect), so going to give book 3 a chance. Listening to The End of Feeling(Cindy C Bennett)Β now. Got it mostly because it was on sale & narrated by a couple of my favorite narrators.
  • Read: Finish Cress, The Girl From Everywhere(Heidi Heilig), Hearts of Evil(Lauralynn Elliot), Inked(Eric Smith), Love Tussles and Takedowns(Violet Duke), His Trouble in Tallulah(Cathryn Fox), Taking Chances(S.J. Maylee), & Tough Love(Lori Foster) – I finished Cress(really loved this one), The Girl From Everywhere(loved this one, too). Finished Hearts of Evil last night(liked this) and started Inked. I’m about 21% through it and enjoying it so far.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Rising Heat" (13)

  1. Whooo! Look at all that lovely blue-green goodness!

    Nola definitely seems to be trying to stop herself from something… but I think Teagen is only an excuse. (That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it until otherwise informed. πŸ˜‰ )

    • It is pretty nice, especially after the slow start.
      She has more than one reason to stay away from Yasmin, or at least she’s convinced herself of that. She’ll figure it out πŸ˜‰

  2. You should have Chapter 11 today or tomorrow, and hopefully 12 by the end of the week.

    You’ve made good progress so far this week.Maybe Monday should be a bit of a rest day for you?

    • yay! πŸ™‚
      usually I can reset over the weekend. It’s why I don’t usually do much writing then. but, those seem to be extremely busy over the summer. and all that social time drains me(it could partly be the trying to act like I’m not on the edge of an anxiety attack from having all those people around me). If this trend continues, I may just have to adjust things to take it easy on Mondays, though. At least until things slow down.

      • I’m about 2/3 through the chapter, and I’ll be working on it again as part of my evening cycle, so hopefully it will be waiting for you when you wake up tomorrow. =)

        I know what you mean about those social energy drains. I don’t have a lot of anxiety unless it’s an actual crowd of strangers, but I can imagine that would make things even more exhausting. Mellow Mondays might be just the thing!

  3. Poor Nola. 😦 It’s fun trying to figure out what actually happened from her thoughts – a wonderful glimpse into her psyche. πŸ™‚

  4. I’ll bet Yasmin can think of many fine ways to draw Nola out of her fears. πŸ˜‰ I’m looking forward to seeing her try, anyway.

  5. Poor Nola, sounds like there’s some tension between her and Teagen… but either way, that’s a legit reason for not wanting to get in the water again. Also sounds like she’s in a bit of denial regarding Yasmin’s intentions…

    • There’s definitely a lot of tension between her and Teagen. And, oh yeah, there’s denial. That may continue for a bit, but she’ll see the truth eventually. πŸ˜‰

  6. From what I read last time and what I read today, I see the tension and an attraction that Yasmin has toward Nola that Nola seems to be avoiding.
    Interesting.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

