Home of a mother, wife, writer

Monday was a pretty nice day, even if I didn’t make a lot of progress on my goals for the first day of this new round of RoW80. It was a holiday, which meant my husband was home, which always throws my routine off. We spent most of it outside, and I actually mostly wrote in my notebook. I got an idea for a story that involves two already established characters(Adrian and Kayla from Flames of Redemption). I probably won’t do anything with it, have just been writing it for fun. It’s about 23 handwritten pages now. Not finished, but I’ve decided to set it aside until I get everything else done for the week. Tuesday morning it rained and started getting humid in the afternoon. Today it’s about 90 degrees. When it’s in the higher 70s, kids were complaining it’s too hot. Today, they’re still playing outside without a problem. I turned AC units on in house and keep going out to check on them.

It’s Wednesday, which means time to share a snippet for WiPPet Wednesday! Woohoo! This week, I’m working on In the Moonlight right now. I think I may have shared a snippet from this once before, but it’s been a while. Today I have 14 paragraphs(7-6-2-1+16)

“Nola,” I said, before I’d even met her eyes. “What are you doing in here?”

She just stared at me, though, and I had to look down at myself. Make sure one of my girls hadn’t fallen out of my bikini top. Nope. Everything was still in place. “Nola? You okay?” I asked, grabbing onto the edge and starting to pull myself up out of the water.

She took a quick step back and shook her head, as if trying to bring herself out of a trance. “Um, Mrs. Thomas sent me in. With towels,” she said quickly. “She wasn’t sure if the closet in here was stocked. The pool hasn’t really been used much since, well since the last summer you spent here.”

I lowered myself a bit more back into the pool. “No one else uses it?”

She glanced away. “Not really. We don’t really have time, and Ms. Adriane, well, she was getting too weak, so…”

She trailed off, but I just kept looking at her. “Do you know how to swim, Nola?” I couldn’t quite understand someone not knowing, when I practically lived for it. Especially when there was this wonderful pool at their disposal.

“What?” she asked. “Of course I know how to. Like I said, I just never have time. I’m always working,”

I splashed some water up at her, and she squealed and jumped back. I only laughed. “You got a suit?”

“A suit of what?” she asked, her eyes locked on my shoulder. They flicked down then back up to just above my shoulder, forcing herself not to watch the water that trailed down into the cup of my bikini. Or maybe that was wishful thinking, and she was just uncomfortable with my near nakedness.

“A swimming suit,” I said with a laugh. “If you do, you could put it on and join me.”

She shook her head, squeezing her eyes shut for a moment. I really shouldn’t tease the poor girl, but I couldn’t seem to help it. I struck out in a backstroke just as she opened her eyes. “Like I said,” she told me, her voice barely more than a squeak, “no time for that. I’ll just, uh, I’ll…” She was staring at me as I continued to move steadily in circles at this end of the pool, and she seemed to completely forget her train of thought.

I came back to the edge and rested my elbows on it. “You’ll what?” I asked, smiling up at her.

That seemed to shock her out of her stupor. “I’ll put these towels in the closet and get back to work. Or do you want me to leave one out for you?”

“That’s fine,” I said, waving to a lounge chair beside the pool where I’d left my own towel. “I’m covered. Well, barely,” I said with a grin, “but it still counts.”

I’m really enjoying writing these two, especially Yasmin(the POV character in this part). Even though she’s almost nothing like me(other than a love for books & history).

Now, on to my progress for this week:

  • Write 24850 words between 5 projects – I’ve written 8705 words so far this week. Could probably add almost 7000 to that if I included what I wrote in my notebook, but don’t have an official count for that. I’ve decided to work on one story until I reach the week’s goal for it before moving on to the next for now.
    • Closing Time – 6733 words
    • In the Moonlight – 1972 words
  • Dance with the Devil – get to 6500 words – no progress yet
  • Snow White Twist – get to 3500 words – no progress yet
  • RoW80 Sponsor Post – Draft, Revise, & submit – have this almost drafted. Just a little more to write.
  • Read: Romancing the Beat – 30% – At about 21%. This is a shorter one.
  • Read: Finish Against the Sky, Serendipity(Carly Phillips), Close Enough to Touch(Victoria Dahl), PS I Still Love You(Jenny Han), Cress(Marissa Meyer), The Girl From Everywhere(Heidi Heilig), and Hearts of Evil(Lauralynn Elliot) – I actually finished Against the Sky Sunday night. I enjoyed this one. And I finished Serendipity this morning. It was pretty good, too, but I didn’t care for the middle brother of the family the books are about, and of course, he’s the main character for the next book. Hoping his attitude improves in that one. Haven’t started Close Enough to Touch yet, but hoping to sometime this afternoon.

More red than I’d like, but I’ll get there…eventually…hopefully 😉

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Heating Up" (13)

  1. Awesome progress, Fallon. I took July 4 off from writing, and by the time I finally sat down in front of the computer Tuesday I was itching to write. Like you I’ll sometimes take my notebook and sit outside, listen to the birds and feel the breeze and write for a little while. I think sometimes our brains need to tactile sensation of handwriting. It’s good for us and provides variety.

    Enjoy the rest of your week! Happy writing!

    • Thanks! I don’t usually write in a notebook, aside from plotting. But, this story was just flowing out. It’s been fun to write, maybe because I don’t have any expectations for it.

  2. Sounds like things are going well enough. Monday was odd for me, too….and I don’t really expect this month to stop being odd. Lots of things happening. I’m just going to do what I can, when I can.

    August should be calmer. =)

    I need to go back and read your goals post.

  3. The dialogue between these two is excellent. Nola’s fear and interest comes across.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

  4. Wow, sounds like you’re making good progress despite being a bit off routine. I’m anxiously awaiting summer camp so I can have a bit of peace, LOL.

    Love the snippet. Lovely, flirty, and definitely has my interest for what might be coming next.

    • No idea why this went into my spam comments. silly wordpress. 🙂
      Summer camp…that would be wonderful. I’ve gotten fairly adept at writing around the kids, but some quiet time would be nice. 🙂
      Thanks! Glad you liked it.

  5. Yasmin almost seems a bit unkind in her teasing, but I’m sure she has a reason for it. And really… if you’ve got it, flaunt it! 😀

    This seems to have been an odd 4th all around. Sounds like yours was creative too. Kudos!

    • She doesn’t really mean to be unkind, but I suppose she can come off a bit rough, where Nola’s mostly soft.
      Yeah, it was odd but still good. Thanks

      • It’s easy to miss-interpret things in a small snippet like this. Just adds to the story in the long run…

  6. Haha, poor Nola, she really doesn’t know what to make of Yasmin, does she? I think I’ll enjoy seeing a bit more of these two if you care to share it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

