Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit of the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil. I’m skipping ahead a little in the scene I’ve been sharing from to avoid some spoilers for Come Back Down. But, I have another 10 sentences to share with you.

“Oh shit,” I said, “I hadn’t heard anything about them being seen around. Aren’t most of them still locked up?”

Hawk’s hand rested on my shoulder, and my stomach knotted up at the touch. Not attraction I insisted as I always did. And this time I was pretty sure I was right about that. This felt more like dread.

“They didn’t all get swept up in the first place,” Hawk reminded me. “And I did get word this morning from one of my contacts that a couple more had been released.”

I turned on him then, his hand dropping from my shoulder at the movement. “Why the hell didn’t you tell me that before we left today?”

Do you feel those storm clouds brewing? How long before they break open?

Comments on: "WeWriWa: ‘More Like Dread’" (10)

  1. Attraction and bad news all mixed up together in one snippet – great!

  2. Sometimes, dread can feel a lot like attraction, and vice versa. 🙂 Sounds like trouble ahead!

  3. I’m wondering who was released, and why that is significant.

  4. The plot thickens, Fallon. This sounds potentially hazardous!

  5. Thos are big storm clouds brewing. 🙂 Good job of upping the tension, Fallon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

