Home of a mother, wife, writer

RoW80 is still on break, but have I stopped writing? Absolutely not. Why would I do that? The words are coming pretty well still. I’ve written almost 90k words this month(Already up to 10k for this week). Hoping I can keep that up next month for Camp NaNoWriMo. Then, in August I’ll be focusing on editing.

I’ll get to the progress I’ve made this week, but first it’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for a new WiPPet. Today I’m sharing from Break on Me again and continuing the theme of oversharing from last week(when I shared from Protecting the Heart). You may remember Susan and Kendall from Love Who You Love. I have 11 paragraphs(2+9 for the day). Raina is Kendall’s niece(about 7 years old or so). Kendall was watching her for her brother while he’s working.

“I was just going to get a pizza to go,” Erik said. “I know you’re here to talk business.”

“You can join us,” Kendall said from the next table. “We don’t have business to discuss.”

That had Susan snorting then slapping a hand over her girlfriend’s mouth. “That’s enough out of you,” she said. “You’ve been teasing poor Gabe plenty as it is.”

He wasn’t sure how he felt being referred to as ‘poor Gabe’ even if Susan meant well. He’d heard that term so many times over the last few years. ‘Poor Gabe’ lost his arm. ‘Poor Gabe’ can’t work beside his father now. ‘Poor Gabe’, who’s ever going to love a broken man? Okay, so no one had ever actually said the last one. But sometimes it felt like that’s what the rest of their words meant.

Then, Susan squealed and pulled her hand back. “Why did you lick my hand?” she asked.

“You seemed to enjoy my tongue on you last night.”

Susan’s face went bright red at that, and Gabriel couldn’t help but chuckle. Susan leaned over to whisper something to Kendall, which just had her grinning. Raina rolled her eyes and looked over at Gabriel. “They’re like this all the time. Can’t you make them stop? I don’t even get it.”

And thankfully it would be a long time before she did, was all he could think. Erik still stood stiffly beside the table, like he hadn’t decided what to do yet.

“Come join us, Erik,” Kendall said again. “I promise we don’t bite.”

“Maybe I’d like that, though,” he said and winked, but he still didn’t move.

Color flushed Susan’s face again, but Kendall grinned at him, obviously finding a kindred spirit.

Lots of room for tension to build here, and this is also partly setting up Erik’s own story(which will be either right after this one or with at least one between them. I’m not sure yet).

As for how this week’s going:

  • Write 19,350 words between 5 projects – So far this week I’ve written 9288 words between 4 projects. I’ll be starting the 5th later today.
    • Protecting the Heart – 4697 words
    • Shed Some Light – 2000 words
    • Break on Me – 1147 words
    • In the Moonlight – 1444 words
  • Finish Outlining Cam & Gio’s story – finished this yesterday.
  • Dance with the Devil – get to 5900 words – I’m at 5878 words. So close already!
  • Snow White Twist – get to 3400 words – I’m at 3009 words for this one.
  • Read: Description – 100%; decide on July’s research/craft book – I’m at 95%. Should have it finished tomorrow.
  • Read: A Most Scandalous Proposal, The Admiral’s Bride, Identity:Unknown, Good Girls Don’t(Victoria Dahl), The Marquess Who Loved Me(Sara Ramsey), Hard to Hold On To(Laura Kaye), A Fashionable Indulgence(K.J. Charles), & Star Nomad(Lindsay Buroker) – I finished A Most Scandalous Proposal on Sunday and re-read the sequel(I’d read them in the wrong order). Yesterday I finished both The Admiral’s Bride & Identity: Unknown. And I started Good Girls Don’t. The main character’s older brothers in this one are really irritating me(and they’ll be the main characters in the next 2 books). She’s 27, and they’re acting like they have a say in who she dates. I probably won’t finish these books before the end of the month, so may end up moving at least a couple to next month.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Cruising Through the Break" (4)

  1. Oh, I do love Susan and Kendall. I would say “poor Gabe,” but he clearly hates that. I’ll just say that it’s too bad he’s had to hear so much whispering about him.

  2. Loved the scene! Felt totally real, like I was there watching it. And though “Poor Gabe”… something makes me think he may be finding himself luckier and happier with his lot in life soon enough

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

