Home of a mother, wife, writer

It’s been quite a week. I’ve written almost 24,000 words and finished another first draft. It came in short than I’d planned, but I tend to add words during my first revision anyway. So, it will probably end up longer by the time it’s ready to send to my critique partner. And if you’re here today, you’re probably looking for the next chapter of Into the Sun. So, here’s the beginning of it:

Birdie’s arms tightened around my waist as we took the sharp curve. Mom had been with us for almost three days now. Her and Birdie still hadn’t spoken again. Mom even avoided Icarus. That shouldn’t really surprise me. What did was the way my dad looked every morning, like he hadn’t gotten any sleep at all.

I’d needed to get out of there. I felt torn between them. I wanted Mom to be happy and safe. Right now, she was only one of them. But, I felt like I had to defend Icarus to her all the time. Try to prove he wasn’t what she still seemed to think. What would it take to convince her?

Birdie’s chin pressed into my back as I slowed for another curve. I’d been spending as much time as I could with her. I was sure it was the only way I wasn’t losing my mind right now. Icarus hadn’t approached Mom again, letting her come to him. It was probably smart. I just wasn’t sure it would ever happen.

We were on our way back to the clubhouse now. It wasn’t smart to come so close to home, but I wanted to be sure Henry wasn’t stirring up trouble. Everything had looked calm. But, I still wasn’t satisfied.

There wasn’t much I could do. Anyway, he couldn’t know where she was now. She’d be safe no matter what he tried.

We had come onto a straight section of road, and I let the bike out, wishing the wind whipping by would whisk away all these thoughts, too. The flashing red and blue lights in my mirror achieved that all on its own.

“Shit.”

Birdie jerked back, but she still had her hands on my waist. “You have to pull over, Trace.”

“I know.” My heart pounded hard. It wasn’t from the adrenaline of the ride, or desire from having her pressed against me. I recognized the decals on the vehicle coming up behind us. They were from the sheriff’s department. They would know Henry. Would they recognize me?

I pulled over to the side of the road, slowing the bike. With my feet on the ground, I shut the bike off and pulled off my helmet. But, I was sure my heart stopped when Henry walked toward us. My hair had grown out a little, and I was starting to get some facial hair, as well as toned muscles. I hadn’t changed enough in the time I’d been gone for him to not recognize me.

“He’s going to kill me.” I didn’t realize I’d said the words aloud until Birdie ran her hand down my back.

“You know who he is?”

“My stepdad. If I tell you to go, take the bike and ride. Tell Icarus.”

“He’s not going to do anything. You haven’t done anything wrong, Trace. He can’t-”

“He’ll do whatever he wants. He always has. Please, Birdie.”

Well, things aren’t looking too good here, are they? If you want to know what happens next, you can read the rest of the chapter here, and I’ll have another one next week.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

