Home of a mother, wife, writer

I don’t even know how to describe how this week has gone writing-wise. Other than really really good. Like extremely great. I wrote 6483 words on Monday. And I figured that was a bit of a fluke. Then, yesterday I wrote 6493 words. I got started late this morning and compiled notes for Stained by Ashes before starting on other words. So, my count’s low for today so far. I probably won’t get as many words today, but that’s fine. It’s still going well.

And today is WiPPet Wednesday!! I’m working on Break on Me this morning, so that’s what I’ll be sharing from today. I have 7 paragraphs(6+1+5+1-6) from some of last week’s words. Actually, I miscounted and there’s 8 paragraphs. So, you get a bonus one for my productive week. πŸ˜‰

Now, she seemed nervous, which she hadn’t since she arrived. He’d had trouble keeping his attention on what they were doing. He wanted to keep drinking her in. But, he knew he shouldn’t be doing that anyway. She was Aaron’s sister. And he’d promised his friend, just days before he died, that he’d always make sure Lora was taken care of and no one hurt her. That probably should have been a clue to what Aaron had planned.

He stood up from his chair and held his hand out to her. She flushed as she took it, and he couldn’t help but wonder what that was about. She didn’t think…No. She had to know he wouldn’t come on to her. He wasn’t that kind of guy.

But, her eyes weren’t wary as she looked up at him. Instead they seemed a little bright. As if…Did she want him to come on to her? His lips parted slightly, and he dropped her hand to brush some hair back from her face. His heart drummed so hard in his chest, he thought it might burst.

“Gabe,” she murmured.

His fingers brushed over her temple then down over her ear, and she shuddered under his touch, her eyes fluttering shut. Desire slammed through him. He pushed all thoughts of Aaron, his promise to his friend, and the things he’d done with ErikΒ out of his mind. It was just him and Lora standing in this kitchen right now.

Her eyes opened again, and he could tell she was waiting. But, he felt frozen in place. Only his thumb moved, stroking over her cheek. Then, she moved, shifting closer to him. She put both of her hands on his shoulders, tipped her head back, and lifted up on her toes enough so their mouths could meet.

The desire that blew through him was so strong, it almost knocked him right over. He slid his arm around her, holding her close, as their tongues tangled together. He’d been thinking of doing this for so long. He just never thought it would happen.

It shouldn’t happen, but her hands were already moving down his body, slipping under the hem of his shirt.

Oh, Gabe. You might as well give up on that now. It’s so happening(not quite yet, though).

Now, for all my progress on my goals so far this week:

  • Write 18000 words between 6 projects(3k on each) – I’m up to 14,139 words for the week so far. Don’t think I’ll have an issue hitting this one.
    • Protecting the Heart – 3468 words
    • Ready When You Are – 3015 words(getting close to the climax on this one, but it’s going to end up shorter than I expected)
    • Paint Me a Picture – 3446 words(hitting the climax on this one, too).
    • Shed Some Light – 3047 words
    • Break on Me – 1163 words so far today.
  • Dance with the Devil – get to 3500 words – no progress yet
  • Goin’ Down – get to 2500 words – no progress yet
  • Snow White Twist – get to 2000 words – no progress yet
  • Read: Description – get to 65% – I’m at about 50% right now. Right on track.
  • Read: Diplomats and Fugitives(Lindsay Buroker), It Came Upon a Midnight Clear(Suzanne Brockman), Holding Strong(Lori Foster), How We Began(various), Ruled by Steel(S.M. Reine), Beautiful Demons(Sarra Cannon), & When a Scot Ties the Knot(Tessa Dare) – I finished Diplomats and Fugitives yesterday(really enjoyed it, especially once the rest of the Emperor’s Edge crew came back into it), and started It Came Upon a Midnight Clear. Almost halfway through this. It went into a flashback for the first half, and I’m finding myself skimming through it. Hoping when it gets back to the present, it picks back up.

A lot more red than I’d like, but I should be through all my writing projects by tomorrow, including the side projects, and then I can catch up on my reading too. Hopefully they’ll all, or at least most of them, be changed over to blue by Sunday’s check-in.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Rolling in the Words" (13)

  1. Great progress!!! You’re so close to making your goal!

    Ruled by Steel and Beautiful Demons are absolutely great. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I’ve passed my weekly word count goal already and still writing. πŸ™‚
      Glad to hear they’re both good. Looking forward to starting them.

  2. Wow, impressive word counts! And here’s me pleased with my 1000-1200 words a day!

    Yup, Gabe, no point in being in denial. πŸ˜€

    • Thanks! They’ve really been pouring out this week. It helps that I don’t have an outside job or school or anything like that. So, I can write pretty much the whole day(except for getting house chores done & feeding kids who *always* seem to be starving).
      Yeah, he’ll figure that out…eventually. πŸ™‚

  3. I think all that red is more a sign of altered focus than any sign of failure. Your focus was directed in another sphere. It’ll shift when it can (like today during your sprints).

    And yeah, looks like Gabe needs to stop thinking it shouldn’t happen, because… it doesn’t seem like he’s going to be able to stop it now.

    • Definitely not a failure. And other than the reading, everything’s blue by now.
      Oh, yeah, he’ll figure that out…eventually. Hahaha.

  4. Awesome word count. Steamy WIPpet. All kinds of yum there.

    I finished A Rising Tide early this morning, and, I’ve dropped the boy off at the halfway point. I have no children in the house till tomorrow afternoon. I’m tired, and might catch a nap – but I’ve got planning to do, and fan fiction to write…

    But way to go you! =).

    • Thanks! And then, Erik walked into the kitchen. And things turned all kinds of awkward. Hehe. πŸ˜€
      Hope you got your nap, or at least some way of celebrating finishing the first draft! Great job!

      • All kinds of awkward makes for fine stories!

        I’m celebrating with a drunken engineer while I finish up the plotting for mynext novel. =)

  5. I really like this scene. The temptation, the tug of war with what he promised Aaron, and his own desire to be intimate Aaron’s sister comes out very clearly.

    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

