Home of a mother, wife, writer

We’ve made it through another week. I’ve written over 17000 words on various projects this week. I seem to have stumbled on the best method for getting to it all. For me at least.

And now chapter seven of Into the Sun is now available on Wattpad. So, if you want to see what’s going on with Trace, you can head over there and read it. Or catch up if you haven’t started yet.

When I walked back out of the meeting room, more than an hour later, we had a plan. We just had to decide the best time to implement it. Too much time had already gone by. What if…I shook my head before the thought finished forming. No, he wouldn’t have gone that far. I couldn’t believe it.

I wouldn’t.

Birdie waited for me when we came out of the meeting. She laughed when she saw the surprised look on my face. “Told ya I’d see you when you got done.”

She had. But, I still wasn’t used to people wanting to spend time with me. “D-Icarus said I’m free for the rest of the day. We could go somewhere or something.”

She smiled at my near slip. I don’t know why I resisted calling him dad so much. It still didn’t feel right. He might be my father, but no matter the reasons, he wasn’t the one who raised me.

“You know it’s okay,” she said, slipping her arm through mine. “He knows it’s going to take some getting used to. You don’t have to worry about him hurting you. Ever. He wouldn’t do anything like that. None of them would.”

“I know.” Icarus told me that himself a time or two. Yet, it felt more true coming from her for some reason.

“What do you want to do?” she asked. “We could take your bike out, or…”

I was really curious about what that ‘or’ meant. And really hoped I could find out. “A walk,” I suggested. “You said all this land around is ours.”

She nodded then tugged on my hand. “I know all the best trails. Come with me.”

I laughed as she practically dragged me along. I’d never had anything like this before. The easy laughter, people who told me I could feel any way I did, that seemed to accept me simply for me, not for how I made them look.

I hoped nothing I did would ever make me lose it.

I had no idea where she was taking me, but I didn’t worry about it either. For the first time it felt good to not know. Even better when she stopped, laughing, near a large oak tree and pulled me against her. Better still when her lips touched mine, her hands sliding up under my shirt.

Yes, I certainly couldn’t wait to see where this would take me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

