Home of a mother, wife, writer

Today’s Story a Day prompt was to rewrite the 1st person story from week 1. I wrote it from Eva’s POV the first time. This time, I rewrote it from Declan’s.

I headed up the stairs, wondering how Eva was doing after meeting Piers. I’d  worried when I heard Eva coming down the stairs. I remembered how she’d reacted to Casey that first day. Piers may not come off as intimidating, he was more laidback. But, he was still a big man, so it wasn’t a surprise she’d been frightened by him as well. I could tell her that none of the guys would ever hurt her, but I wasn’t so sure she’d believe me. And I wouldn’t blame her, either. Sometimes I was surprised she still trusted me.

I’d promised her she’d be safe from Doug, and now it looked like that might not be the case.

Now, I found her waiting for me at the top of the stairs, just inside the apartment. It looked like she’d worked herself into a state, just as I’d been worried about. Now, if only I could find the right words to calm her fears. She turned from the kitchen counter, and I approached slowly, hoping I wouldn’t spook her as well.

“Your friend left?” she asked.

“Yeah. What did you want to talk to me about, Eva?”

I took a couple steps closer to her,  but I saw her eyes widen and that pulse in her neck start to flutter, so I stopped where I was. I didn’t want to frighten her any more than I, or Piers, already had. I wished she knew I’d never hurt her. I wanted to touch her but never in the way her husband had.

“I want to do something.”

That took me by surprise, but I shook it off. Of course, she was tired of being cooped up here. “Okay,” I said, a little slowly. “What? You need to go somewhere? I can take you.”

She shook her head, the earrings she wore swinging with the motion. I wondered if she’d made those ones herself. “That’s not what I meant,” she said, bringing my attention back to her mouth. Which was a mistake. But, I had to focus on her words not on how much I’d like to kiss her right now. “I want to do something about Doug, to stop him.”

Those words sent a shaft of fear through me. I couldn’t let her anywhere near him, couldn’t let him get near her. “You don’t need to do that. I told you I’d take care of you. That I would keep you safe.”

“But, I can’t just sit around knowing he’s still out there. I have to do something, Declan. I don’t want to be this damsel in distress. Not again.”

“You’ve never been that,” I insisted. “You got yourself out of a bad situation, protected your baby. I only helped. So, don’t think of yourself like that.”

“There has to be something I can do,” she said, her voice sounding a little desperate.

I stared at her for a few moments then sighed. It seemed there was very little I could deny her or her daughter. “I got some information from Piers earlier. That’s why he was here. You can go through it with me.”

I watched her, waiting for her reaction, and hoped this would be enough. She still wouldn’t be in danger, but at least she’d feel she was doing something. Finally, she said, “Okay, I’ll check on Danica. She was in her room playing. Then, we can get started.”

I just nodded and headed to the table with the file I’d brought up from the office. She hesitated for a moment then headed back toward the bedrooms. I ran a hand over my face as I sank into a seat. Piers had said I was sunk. And I was pretty sure he was right.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

