Home of a mother, wife, writer

I’ve already shared the first two chapters of Into the Sun over on Wattpad. I’m continuing with that this week. But, I also decided I’d share an excerpt from that chapter here at the same time. And if you’d like, you can head over there to read the rest of it. So, here’s the first ~300 words of Chapter 3.

Bull opened the door to the bedroom, and I stepped inside. There were my saddlebags sitting on the bed. I wouldn’t even have to go back out to get them. “You brought my stuff in?” I felt like something lodged in my throat.

“Didn’t look in it, I swear,” Bull said.

I wasn’t worried about that. Pretty much all I had in them was clothes. I shook my head and headed for the bed.

“I swear,” Bull said again when I reached for the bags. “We don’t steal. Especially not from someone who might become a member.”

What do you do? The words were right on the tip of my tongue, but I bit them back. I wasn’t sure I really wanted to know. “Not worried about that, Bull. Ain’t got nothing to steal.”

He studied me as I moved the bags off the bed. “You run away, boy? You did, and we won’t turn ya in. But, it would help to know.”

“I’m a legal adult, Bull. Hard to be a runaway when you’re legally independent.”

“God, you talk like him.”

I stiffened a bit. “Who?”

“The captain. You’d think he’d been a lawyer back in the day, rather than a cop.”

That had me spinning around. “He…Icarus was a cop?”

“He was,” Bull said. “Up until about five years ago. He got rather disillusioned with the system. But, that’s his story to tell. As yours is yours.” His mouth twisted. “Yeah, I don’t have his way with words.”

I choked up all the same. They weren’t going to ask. I imagined they were all curious. But, they weren’t going to ask me for it before I was ready. He didn’t say anything else before leaving.

If you’d like to read the rest of what happens, you can here. And stay tuned next Friday for Chapter 4.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

