Home of a mother, wife, writer

This week has been going fairly well. Making progress on projects, though the last few days I’ve felt unfocused. Or at least my focus wasn’t what it should be on. Yesterday all I wanted to do was get back into reading Beyond the Red(Ava Jae), which I absolutely loved. But, I made myself get everything else done before I picked it back up. Not sure what my problem was today, other than being woken up at 3 a.m. by a whining puppy(this doesn’t happen too often anymore at least). And it’s really cold in the house. Last week I was thinking about getting shorts out. Today I dug out some slippers. I was going to sit under my blanket and watch the second half of season 1 of Outlander(I got it on DVD in December, but never seem to find the time to watch). But all of a sudden, the DVD player doesn’t want to read any DVDs.

It’s Wednesday again, which means it’s WiPPet Time! Woohoo!! I’m working on Ready When You Are(Hunter Family Book 3). This is Kelan and Oliver’s(might remember him from Some Fools Never Learn – he was Emilia’s brother) story, and Kelan’s brother, Nolan(from Flames of Restoration) has just showed up. This is still fairly close to the beginning of the story(pg 15 in my Word document). I have 14 paragraphs(2+7-4+2+1+6) of mostly dialogue

Nolan smiled, but it didn’t quite meet his eyes. Him and Maura couldn’t be having problems already, could they? They’d only been married for three weeks.

“Finn had a birthday party to go to,” Nolan said. “Maura took the girls shopping to spend some of their Christmas money. I have about an hour until I need to pick Finn back up, so I thought I’d see you, maybe swing by Mom and Dad’s if I have time.”

“Oh, okay,” he said, leading Nolan toward the kitchen. It wasn’t too unusual for his brother to stop by, especially if he was nearby. Still, it felt like there was more going on. And he had just seen Nolan the night before. Which made it even odder for him to just come over. “So, what’s up?”

Nolan let out a long breath. “Actually that’s what I was going to ask you.”

That had Kelan stopping where he was. “What does that mean? I’ve been back to school this week. But, you know that since the kids are, too.”

Nolan nodded. “There’s more to you than your work, though. You had a date last week.”

Damn having a close-knit family. He didn’t think that too often, as he loved the way his family was. Most of the time. “He had to cancel on me. Something with work, I guess.” He shrugged a shoulder as if it didn’t even matter. But his hand shook as he reached for the refrigerator door. “You want something to drink?”

“No, Kel. I want you to sit down and talk to me. You seemed upset when you were talking to Emilia last night.”

Kelan grabbed a bottle of water from the fridge for himself then moved over to the table where his brother had already taken a seat. “It’s fine. She explained this is how he gets when he’s working on a case. It wasn’t about me.”

“Kelan,” Nolan said, and something in his voice had Kelan’s head coming up, forcing him to make eye contact. “He may not have meant it like that, but you don’t have to disregard the way it made you feel.”

Kelan let out a strained laugh. “Anyone ever tell you that you should go back and finish your psychology degree.”

Nolan’s laugh was a little looser. “Mark mentions it all the time. Not always as a compliment.”

“When’s he getting married? Coming up soon, isn’t it?”

“Yes, next month. And stop changing the subject,” he said, but with a smile still on his face.

My progress so far this week:

  • Plot/write/edit for 20 hours – 9.5 hours. I might try to get a little more written today. We’ll see.
    • In the Moonlight – 2341 words in plotting. Ready to start writing this
    • Protecting the Heart – 2537 words
    • Ready When You Are – 1420 words
  • Dance with the Devil – get to 750 words – Have played with this(and the other two when I’ve gotten everything else done for the day. – at 619 words right now.
  • Goin’ Down – get to 625 words – 606 words
  • Snow White Twist(no official title for this one yet) – get to 300 words – 314 words
  • Read: Conflict & Suspense – Finish – up to 88% on this
  • Read: Everyday Average Jones(Suzanne Brockman), Beyond the Red(Ava Jae), & Beware the Wild(Natalie C. Parker) – finished Everyday Average Jones(liked it, though  had a couple issues with it) and Beyond the Red(LOVED!! yes, it deserved all caps), and almost halfway through Beware the Wild. Obviously it’s been a reading week.
  • Crochet: Twisty Cabled Beanie – more progress on this. Hoping to finish it this week.
  • A-Z Challenge – Revise U,V,W,X,Y,Z – got these all revised and scheduled on Sunday.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Split Focus" (5)

  1. Aw, I like the way the brothers interact here. Though, I’m with Kelan…what’s really going on with Nolan?

    • Thanks. I really like this whole family. As for Nolan, he really is just worried…and probably a little tired from pulling a double shift at the fire station.

  2. […] as I felt little was achieved the past few days. But then I read Fallon Brown’s post about split focus and it made me realize once again we all get caught inlife […]

  3. Great progress, Fallon! I’ve got everything by Z done. That’s going to be a bit of an extravaganza, with some new bits and revised bits and a lot more detail. I’m going to shower, and then get started on it….because, you know, I can’t quite wait….!

    Boldly Going Through the Alphabet!
    @shanjeniah
    Part-Time Minion for Holton’s Heroes
    shanjeniah’s Lovely Chaos

    • Thanks! I ended up not getting any more writing done yesterday, but I did get a lot of reading in. So, that’s something at least. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

