Home of a mother, wife, writer

My plan to focus on one project a day has been working out well. Today’s focus hasn’t been there, feels like my mind is going in every possible direction except forward on today’s story. So, the words have been slower, but they’re still coming. The weather has been really nice this week, so we’ve been spending more time outside. I’m still getting most of my goals accomplished, though. I seem to be finding a routine that works pretty well for me.

Since I haven't shared a picture of the pup for a while

Since I haven’t shared a picture of the pup for a while

Before I get to more in-depth reporting on my progress, it’s Wednesday, which means WIPPET TIME!! Today I’m working on Paint Me a Picture, so that’s what I’m sharing from. I shared one snippet from it last month and this one picks up pretty much right after it. 20 sentences from Chapter 1.

“What was that about? And don’t tell me nothing. ”

“It is nothing,” she insisted. “I just don’t know many guys who would take so much care with a little girl.”

“Then, you don’t know the right guys,” he snapped. “She’s precious. Why wouldn’t I take care with her?”

“Not even my dad is like that with her, and he absolutely adores her. You saying he’s not the right kind of guy, either?”

Rylan blew out a breath. “Not to his face.”

That had Kirsten cracking a smile. “He’d be pleased to know that.”

“Yeah, well, I still think your father hates me.”

“How many times do I have to tell you? My father hates your father. Not you.”

“And I’m totally with him there.”

Somehow they’d completely gotten off the original conversation. Which was fine with her, since she’d been on the path to making a fool of herself.

I also wrote a little piece that gives a glimpse into Rylan’s childhood and maybe why he does take such care with Cora.

wp-1461146415936.jpg

As for my progress for the week(Color code: Blue -goal met, Green – progress made, Red – no progress):

  • Plot, draft, edit 20 hours – about 9 hours so far. Still have some more time today, so should remain on track.
    • Protecting the Heart – 3169 words
    • Ready When You Are – 3003 words
    • Paint Me a Picture – 1075 words so far(but still have about 1.5 hours of writing time left today)
    • Stained by Ashes – still waiting on an email from CP on Healing the Heart, so I’ve been working on transcribing in-line comments 1 beta reader sent back into comment boxes, so it will be easier when I get notes back from 2nd beta reader. I’m currently through Chapter 12.
  • Dance with the Devil – 250 words
  • Goin’ Down – 500 words(it’s currently at 400)
  • Read: Conflict & Suspense – get to 80% – about 66%. On track.
  • Read: Finish Just For this Moment(Kait Nolan), Obsession in Death(J.D. Robb), Slamdunked by Love(Jamie Wesley), Best Man for Hire(Tawna Fenske), Casting Shadows(Amanda DeWees), Anthem(A.M. Leibowitz), & Forbidden Witches(S.M. Reine) – Finished Just For this Moment(loved this one) and Obsession in Death(really liked this one). Currently 16% through Slamdunked by Love.
  • Crochet: Twisty Cabled Beanie – This is the one thing that’s been pushed to the side this week. Maybe today I’ll get it started.
  • A-Z Challenge – Draft & Revise U,V,W,X,Y,Z – Falling behind on this, but I have time to catch back up. I just started (U) last night.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Focusing Again" (16)

  1. Hooray for working routines! I think it’s only natural for a day or two to start slogging a little, especially after a steady stream of progress, so it’s just important to keep working through it until it picks up again. At least, that’s what I tell myself, because I’ve been slogging a little on one project, but, thankfully, not as much on some others.

    Nice snippet, too! I haven’t been following the story, but, once again, your dialogue is immediately inviting and relatable. Keep up the great work, Fallon!

    • Yeah, having a routine really helps me. Yesterday picked up some, though it was still a little slow. Today was a little better. Part of it depends on what I’m working on as well. Some stories roll out faster than others.
      Thanks! I’d only posted one other snippet from this one, and it was a while ago.

  2. I’m always amazed by the people who can keep up with the A to Z challenge. But then, you’re a VERY prolific writer, I’ve noticed. 🙂

    Heeheehee. I know what that’s like, Kirsten. Sometimes, a conversation flowing into a tangent is a good thing.

  3. I think I missed something here, but I did read the bit on Rylans childhood, so it was good to see him all grown up. I still kind of want to hug him, though. Maybe Kristen would be willing to do that for me.

    Good work on the goals; I’m just keeping up with A-Z (this is a bit of an Other Things week, so I’m OK with keeping up). Beta 2 is slacking on the job, but next month will be better.

    Oh, and that’s one really cute pup! =)

    Boldly Going Through the Alphabet!
    @shanjeniah
    Part-Time Minion for Holton’s Heroes
    shanjeniah’s Lovely Chaos

    • Rylan could definitely still use some hugs. Kirsten’s still too busy resisting her own feelings. Eventually she’ll hug him(and more) 😉
      Thanks. I finished my U post last night and started W, so I’m still staying a little ahead. Hopefully I can have the rest drafted and at least U revised by the end of the weekend.

      • I’ve read through some materials for the S extended story (the vignette just needs some minor adjusting), and then I need to figure out what to include. But I’ve got some other business I need to tend to this weekend, too, and I’ll be taking my son swimming because daughter is away. Parties on Saturday…I guess I’ll just be happy to get through the month with everything posted! =D

      • There’ve been a couple I’d like to expand on, but I don’t know if it will happen. Certainly not this month. I have through W drafted now. I should be able to stay on track at least.

  4. Good work on your goals and I love the snippet. Your characters really jump off the page (well, screen :P)

  5. I know it wasn’t you intention in this piece, but I could seriously see someone taking the same line of reasoning and attributing a very nasty reason for Rylan’s care of Cora. And that is cool… because it adds possible tension to the story.

    And… I hear you about thing moving slowly these last few days. I hope it’s just a bit of Spring Fever.

  6. I only read your snippet and felt like the feud between both fathers will have an effect on their relationship and the baby.

    Shalom Aleichem,
    Patricia

    Link: http://www.patgarciaschaack.com/thinking_it_over/2016/04/wippet-wednesday-april-20-2016.html

    • Kirsten’s father has good reason for hating Rylan’s father. And Rylan has good reason for not being too fond of him, either.

  7. I think my mind went where Eden’s did…I sort of had this nagging thought that someone would misinterpret Rylan’s care for Cora (which obvs wouldn’t be the case or Kirsten wouldn’t want him either!). I read the other bit too, and I’m with the folks who want to hug him.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

