Home of a mother, wife, writer

Week 3 of the ListifyLife Challenge and still going strong. Today’s list is about the little things that make you happy. This took me a little bit of thinking. Not that I’m an unhappy person. After all, I surprised the nurses when I went in to have my daughter. Smiling when I was having contractions(that I couldn’t feel anyway). But, I like to think of myself as mostly content. Except for when I’m not(and that’s mostly when my anxiety is high).

But, there are a few things that raise my happiness level:

wp-1459787077225.jpg

  • New Books – I’d say this one is pretty obvious. And it’s not just brand new books. All new to me books make me happy. Which is why I love the used bookstore. This past weekend, I took a small box of books in and left with 14. For only $25. 4 of those were for the kids. Most of the ones I get there are from older series I’m trying to catch up on.
New books

New books

Not so new books

Not so new books

  • Coffee – Let’s just say this one makes those around me pretty happy, too.
  • The woods – We moved from our small town when I was 10, to a house outside of that town with trees on three sides of us. I figured out pretty quickly that this was one of my happy places. We don’t currently live in the woods, but sometimes my walks take me through a section of trees, and I still get that sense of peace from it.
  • Quiet house – People are always surprised when I tell them how early I get up. But, my kids are also early risers. So, getting up so early(usually around 4 a.m. is about the only way I can assure I get some quiet time in the morning. It’s also when my words seems to flow the best. I also get some quiet time when both kids are at school, but the boy is only there in the morning, so even that is limited.
Comments on: "ListifyLife Challenge: Week 3 – Little Happy Things" (1)

  1. I love my quiet time as well, and certainly is rare when kids enter the picture. Congrats on keeping the Life Challenge up for 3 weeks.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

