Home of a mother, wife, writer

RoW80 is on break this week, but true to form, I’m still working. I just don’t like taking breaks. Not very long ones anyway. I can handle a day. Maybe even a weekend. But, more than that, and I get cranky from not writing. So, trust me, it’s better for everyone if I keep going.

I’m still trying to work out the best way to juggle everything I want to get done. The last two days I’ve found my motivation severely lacking, okay, pretty much disappearing, after lunch time. so, ‘ve decided to focus my morning time on writing. I’ll still try to get a few other things done while both kids are at school, but I want most of that time to go to writing. Then, I’ll focus the hour before lunch on editing. I’m starting that today, so we’ll see how it goes. And, yes, I’m writing this while  should be writing my other stuff. I’m bouncing between the two.

I mentioned last week(Sunday’s post), that I was going to start a slightly different routine. Starting with the WiP that was closest to being done, I was going to write through until I stalled out on words then move to the next. Well, the one closest to being done is Love Who You Love(at over 90% to my goal). And the words just keep flowing on it. Needless to say, it’s the only one I’ve worked on so far this week. I may even finish it before the month is over. We’ll see how that goes.

Now, it’s time for another WiPPet snippet!! Since, as  said, all I’ve been working on is Love Who You Love, you get more from that. Today, I have 6 paragraphs(3+3+0). Rumors are spreading about Susan and Kendall(and Chris).

Kendall looked back toward the counter. “Rea, can you watch the front for me for a little bit?”

She caught he sympathy in the other woman’s eyes a moment before she nodded. “Not a problem, Ken. Garage is quiet now, and [xx] can handle it.”

“Thanks.” She took Susan’s arm and led her back toward Doren’s office. “Come on. We can talk in here.”

“I really don’t think making out in my brother’s office is going to help any of this.”

Kendall glanced up at Susan’s face, saw a smile ghosting around her lips, even though her eyes were still shadowed. “That wasn’t my plan, but if you want…”

Susan laughed and rested her forehead against Kendall’s. “I don’t know what to do.”

This is the start of what leads to them fighting and not speaking for a few days(which for them, is a long time). But, I’ve already got that worked out and mostly smoothed over again. I’m think I’ll have this finished before next Wednesday, so you’ll probably get more from Paint Me a Picture then.

Now for how I’ve done so far this week:

  • Work 20 hours on writing projects – 7.5/20. I’m actually thinking of lowering this to 15 hours for writing. 4 hours a day seems to be pushing it a lot of the time.
  • Edit 5 hours – haven’t worked on this at all yet this week. Hoping to today, though.
  • Come Back Down – work 1 hour
  • Row80 Sponsor Post – Brainstorm & draft – Brainstormed & outlined. Still need to draft it.
  • Read: Description & Setting = practically finished with this. At 95%
  • Read: The Vixen and the Vet(Katy Regnery), Frisco’s Kid(Suzanne Brockman), Once Upon a Setup(Kait Nolan), My Last(Melanie Shawn), Protect and Serve(various), Lies We Live(Brenda St John Brown), Nowhere But Here(Katie McGarry), Scandalous(R.G. Alexander), Legal Heat(Sarah Castille), Love on the Ledge(Zoraida Cordova), & Kiss Kill Vanish(Jessica Martinez): Had some issues with The Vixen and the Vet, but otherwise enjoyed the story. Frisco’s Kid was okay. Enjoyed Once Upon a Setup, My Last was okay, though it felt really repetitive and just…off. I skimmed through some of it. I did add the next book in the series to my wish list, but I probably won’t get it unless it drops to $.99 or free. I only read one of the stories(Shots Fired) in Protect and Serve, but I enjoyed it. Now, I have to read the other novellas from that series to catch up to where that one was. Really enjoyed Lies We Live, though it had a bit of a cliffhanger ending. Still, I really want to read the next book. I’m 29% through Nowhere But Here and really enjoying it. Though I’ve been yelling at one of the characters a bit.
  • Crochet: Half and Half Slouch Hat – I finished this. And I started a new project on my knitting loom.wp-1459345170105.jpg
  • A-Z Challenge – Draft & Revise posts as I have time – I have through (H) and part of (I) drafted. And through (B) revised and scheduled. I’m hoping to get through N drafted this week, then I’ll start revising (C) through (H). I’m hoping to stay at least a few posts ahead.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Through the Break" (4)

  1. Aw, I really like the dialogue in this scene. Sucks that while any relationship can be subject to rumours, theirs is likely to suffer worse ones.

  2. Ah, juggling. Such fun, isn’t it? Just when I think I have a plan worked out, something spears it. Good luck with finding your balance! 😀 I’m thinking your characters need some good luck of their own, as well. Nice scene between the two.

    • I’m not too good at actual physical juggling. Thankfully I do a better job at it with my projects.
      They do finally get some. I actually finished the 1st draft earlier today.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

