Home of a mother, wife, writer

Teaser Tuesday: Leah

Time for another teaser from Stained by Ashes. This is now off with a couple beta readers. Once I have it back, I’ll have a better idea of a release date. For right now, I’m saying it will be this summer. Last week, we met Adam. So, today, this is where we meet Leah for the first time.

Leah Kline held on to the horse’s bridle. She knew who she needed to deal with to get her way. “Come on, Barrett. I’m so tired of being stuck out here. I want to go into town. It’s not like I’m going to listen in on your precious meeting.”

“I don’t have a problem with you going into town, Leah,” Barrett said as he tightened a harness strap. “I know Father already told you no. Do you think I want to go up against him? Especially when Louis will back him up.”

“You can convince him, Bare. You’ve always been able to charm him.”

Barrett snorted at that. “You’re the one has him wrapped around your finger, Sister, not me. If you can’t convince him, I won’t.”

Leah leaned her head against the horse’s neck. “He doesn’t want to listen to me. The only thing he cares about is this fight with those farmers.”

“He’s trying to protect all of us, Leah.”

“I know, but it’s just going to town,” she said. “Nothing’s going to happen while we’re there. I don’t see why I have to stay here all the time. I feel like a prisoner.”

“You are not a prisoner, and you know it.”

She winced at the voice behind her. She hadn’t realized her father was near enough to hear her words. She looked up at him. “Pa.”

He brushed her off and moved to the other side of the wagon. “Get in the wagon if it is so important for you to go.”

The smile spread across her face, and she headed for the back of the wagon. “Told ya,” Barrett said as she passed him.

She resisted the urge to stick her tongue out at him as she would have when she was younger. She wanted her father and brothers to take her seriously. She couldn’t act so childish.

“I would not be so smug, Barrett,” their father said. “You will be staying with her and keeping her out of trouble.”

And while waiting for Stained by Ashes to release, you can always read Stained Snow if you haven’t yet. If you have, thank you and I hope you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

