Home of a mother, wife, writer

I mentioned on Sunday about the rough start to DST. That happens when you’re out late, and you’re used to being in early, and you still wake up early. Plus, a hangover. Yeah that didn’t help much. It wasn’t too bad, mostly just a persistent headache and feeling exhausted. But, we were all in bed by 8 p.m. And starting Monday, I was getting things back on track. Its actually going pretty well so far.

Before I get to that, it’s WiPpet Wednesday! This is hosted by Emily Witt, who also has a pre-order available you should check out. I’ll wait. *folds hands. Twiddles thumbs.* Back? Okay, good. Anyway, last week I believe I promised more of Love Who You Love. I also mentioned some steaminess I’d written on Tuesday. So, I believe I’ll combine the two(don’t worry, nothing too graphic or explicit). For today, I have 13 paragraphs(3-16), right after some of the steamier stuff.

They melted into each other, Susan’s arms wrapping around Kendall as her best friend’s head rested on her chest once more. “Feels like a dream,” Kendall murmured.

“Let’s not wake up yet then,” Susan suggested.

“But, I’m hungry.” The words came out on a mumble, sounding like Kendall was already halfway back to sleep.

Susan laughed and curled her arms a little tighter around Kendall. She didn’t want to let her go yet. “I don’t have much for breakfast,” she admitted. “I usually just hit the diner during the week or get cereal on the weekends, if I don’t go to my parents’.”

“Diner’s fine,” Kendall murmured. “Meet ya there,”

Susan laughed again. She couldn’t remember ever being this full of joy so early in the morning. Even after waking up to sex. “That means we should get dressed. And probably showered, too. If we both show up smelling like the bar, people will talk.”

Kendall’s eyes shot open at that. “People are going to talk anyway. They always do about me.” She looked away. “Maybe I should just go home and meet you there.”

When Kendall started to roll away, Susan reached out to stop her. “No, Ken, don’t. Please.” Kendall stopped, and Susan rushed on hoping she could mend whatever she’d just torn between them. “Whatever they say out there, it doesn’t matter. I want to get breakfast with you. How many times have we gone to breakfast together?”

Now, a smile slipped over Kendall’s face. “I lost track years ago.”

Susan let out a laugh, though it was strained this time. “See? They don’t have to know anything. We’re just spending some time together. Maybe we can spend more after breakfast, too.”

Kendall shifted over the bed and snuggled up to Susan again. “I’d like that.”

Susan stroked her hand through Kendall’s hair while she held her. “Let’s get that shower,” she said after a moment. “I’m pretty sure you’ve left enough clothes here over the years, we won’t even have to go back to your place before breakfast.”

Kendall practically jumped off the bed. “Now, that sounds like a perfect plan. Come on, I’m starving

Now, that I’ve spent like 45 minutes debating what and how much I’m going to share. Then, waffling about it some more. Then, picking a different snippet. Next week, I should be sharing from Protecting the Heart. Then, more from this the week after that. Not sure on April yet(I have the schedule made out, but it may change by then, and I’m not looking that far ahead yet).

Now, as for my progress so far this week:

  • Work 20 hours on drafting – 10.5 hours/20. Still have about 2 hours of writing time today. A little ahead(I did some extra Monday because words were really rolling)
    • Protecting the Heart – 4026 words
    • Paint Me a Picture – 4746 words
    • Love Who You Love – 2728 words(so far)
  • Work 5 hours on editing – about 2.5 hours/5. I did an extra half hour on Monday b/c I wanted to finish the word I was searching through for. Still hoping to have this finished & sent out by the weekend.
  • Come Back Down – work 1 hour over weekend
  • Read: Description & setting – 70% – I’m at 60%. Right on track.
  • Read: The Scorpion Rules(Erin Bow), Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda(Becky Albertalli), Defiance(C.J. Redwine), Chance of Rain(Amber Lin), Slow Heat(Jill Shalvis), Winter’s Burn(Elena Aitken), 99 Days(Katie Cotugno), & Festive in Death(J.D. Robb) – I finished The Scorpion Rules(enjoyed, though I had some issues with the resolution, but there’s another book coming, so we’ll see). Loved!! Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda. I finished it at dinner time yesterday, and I’m still thinking about it this morning. Even though I’m now 50% through Defiance. Which I’m enjoying.
  • Knit: Mug Hug – got this started. Not much farther than that though. It should be a quick project, just didn’t have the motivation to work on it yesterday(decided to read instead)
  • A-Z Challenge – draft posts as I have time – still on (B) post. Hoping to at least finish that one this week.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Recovering" (24)

  1. Plotting has definitely taken over top spot for me, as I feel the new Kifo book coming to life…I’ve made a bit of A-Z progress this week, but I’ve kind of made my peace with the fact that I’m going to be focused on the plotting and revisions more than that, for probably at least another week.

    Sounds like you’re doing well, though, so I hope you can find the time and energy to get through everything you want to do this week, and then some! =)

    • Glad it’s coming to life for you. My focus is on drafting right now. And of course getting Stained by Ashes polished up. Probably won’t be doing more plotting until the end of April(at least that’s what my schedule is right now. Could always change).
      Things are going well, staying pretty much on track. Thanks!

      • I’ll by drafting before the month is out, I hope, but I’m feeling like I really need to get these foundations laid, and make some progress on those A-Z posts, because the end of the month is definitely coming…but, like you, I can change on a dime if I feel something else needs to be the focal point…

      • Well, I finished drafting one more A-Z post. So, you’ll get to see a little of Casey’s(from Guarding the Heart) back story. 🙂 Hoping to get to more of them this weekend.

      • Cool! No A-Z for me yesterday. I spent most of it working on this week’s critique group pieces. It’s time consuming, and I still have a ways to go to be done, but that should happen by Sunday. Tomorrow there’s an LPS event to do with my girl, then I’ll be alternating the remaining crit group stuff with blogging and A-Z prep. Might even get crazy and get back to my NaNo plotting. Next step is to flesh out the scene outlines. 24 of them; then I’ll be more or less ready for April 1.

      • I finished C Friday night and probably about half through D yesterday. Don’t know if I’ll finish it today but hoping to work on them throughout the week.

      • I don’t have any posts ready to go just yet. I’m trying to move through a process so I’m not struggling to keep up at the end of the month. I’ll probably be working on other projects today, but I’m about ready to start revising my Week Two vignettes, after which i will be setting up the expansion stories for Week One. Right now, it’s kind of slow going, but, once I get through all the plotting for those longer stories, I’ll have at least my two Week One posts ready to go fairly quickly, and then it’ll speed up.

        Best of luck to us both as we keep on going! =)

  2. Awww, that was a sweet little scene!

  3. Thanks so much for the shout-out! 😀

    This scene is really sweet. I like the nervousness coupled with hopefulness.

  4. Oh, gosh. I want to read about these two forever and ever. I just love them. Susan feels very protective here, and I love how she’s doing her best to reassure Kendall.

    • I’m so glad you like them. I kind of don’t want to stop writing about them, and considering this series is set in a really small town, with a bunch of the characters related, they’ll show up in the other stories as well.

  5. The after love scene snippet between Susan and Kendall is very interesting. It shows the insecurities of both women, especially Kendall.
    Shalom,
    Patricia

  6. I totally forgot to comment on your snippet, which I found touching and perfect. I love love love the way that Susan reads Kendall, and helps to reassure her.

    However, I somehow doubt it’s going to be just any other breakfast out…I’m imagining these women are AGLOW in big neon capital letters! =D

    • They have known each other pretty much their whole lives, so they tend to read each other well(except for when they fight. *sigh* breaking my heart with where ended this week’s writing. They’ll figure thing out though).

      Yeah, more and more people are figuring them out. Let’s just say, secrets don’t stay so secret in a small town. 🙂

      • No, they don’t – and i say that as a lifelong resident of small towns (or, usually, the land near a small town.)

        I’m so sorry they’re not getting along right now. But next week, hopefully, they get to make up, right?!

        And, if it helps, I am closing in on being ready to offer you that juicy TnT beta (and, if you’re interested, I have two shorter ones you’ve seen versions of before that are just about ready, and both shorter than 5K).

      • That’s where I’ve always lived, too. In fact, the town in this series is based on my hometown.

        They’ve got some external forces happening right now and both trying to deal with it and end up hurting each other. But, of course, they’ll make up. If not next week, hopefully by the week after that. 🙂

        And TnT always helps! I’d love to read all of it.

      • In a good love, people learn to forgive the accidental hurts along the way, and how to soothe one another in the aftermath of the hurt. May the making up come quickly for these two!

        I’m so happy to hear that. Revised versions of “Mission Accomplished” and “Scavenger Hunt”. “First Contact, With Jazz” will be a bit longer, since it’s a more extensive story, and I haven’t begun the next revision pass yet.

        Excited to share them with you! =D

  7. I loved your WiPpet. I like when the characters have a contented moment before you chase them up a tree and shoot at them. Or is this near the end? You seem to be doing well on your goals. Good luck from a fellow ROW80 blog hoping friend.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you liked it. This is a little past the middle, so they still have some trouble coming their way.
      Goals are going well this week. Thanks for stopping by.

  8. I enjoyed the contrast between the organizational side of this post (all the ROW80 updates), and then the sheer creativity of bringing two women to life — with all their foibles and insecurities. Of course the reader will want that happy-ever-after for this couple, despite the small town setting. Have a great week!

    • Thanks! And they’ll get it(that’s pretty much a given with almost anything I write. or at least a happy-for-now).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

