Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another installment of Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Come Back Down, but moving on to later in the story now. Trace has just found out what happened with Birdie and Brad. And she’s been avoiding him now. There’s some other stuff that’s happened between as well.

“What do you want, Trace? To tell me how sorry you are, that something like that shouldn’t have happened, that I deserve better?” I choked on the words and turned away from him.

He didn’t answer those questions, though, and he didn’t come to me. “What about what you just told me this morning?”

I turned back to look at him, not quite understanding what he was getting at, and it wasn’t pity in his eyes when I finally looked at them. Sympathy, maybe, and understanding.

“What about ‘None of us are completely whole’? What about, ‘why wouldn’t I accept your broken pieces?’ Why are you so afraid of me seeing yours suddenly?”

 

Also, some news: I just released Stained Snow, the first in a series of westerns yesterday. You can check it out if you’d like.

 

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Broken Pieces”" (13)

  1. Congrats on the release, Fallon.

    Excellent dialogue, cutting straight to the point!

  2. A great, vulnerable moment. Congrats on the new release!

  3. This is a great scene, Fallon. Her heart is on her sleeve–along with a bit of a chip, but he manages just fine. Nicely done!

  4. Interesting excerpt, I like that he’s trying to understand what’s behind the things she said. Really grabbed me and won’t let go!

  5. bonniegill said:

    Congrats on the release.
    Nice dialogue. I love how he’s still kind of lost.
    Great snippet.

  6. Yay, a new book. Congrats on Stained Snow.

  7. […] by the end of the month. For now, here’s another 10 sentences, picking up almost right after last week’s snippet(I just left out a few of Birdie’s […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

