Home of a mother, wife, writer

Only ten more days until Stained Snow releases! And don’t forget you can still pre-order it. And here’s another teaser to hold you over until then.

Adam and George stepped up onto the porch. He swore he felt the younger man’s hostility. He hadn’t done anything. Adam was the one who kept putting his arm around Maggie. The one who always had his head bent down by hers. Who laughed at everything she said.
He realized he had his fist clenched inside his coat and forced himself to relax.
George clamped his hand down on William’s good shoulder. “What are you doing out here?”
“I was going to head down to the barn to help with the chores.”
“Adam helped me with them. You should be inside resting. I don’t want to have to pick you up off the ground again.”
William’s teeth scraped together. “I’m fine. Sewn up tight this time.”
“You were last time, too. You still pulled it open. There’ll still be chores for you when you’re a bit stronger. Just rest now, Will.”
Adam shifted from one foot to the other on the other side of George, his face still impassive. He only lost that stoic look when he was around Maggie. Any other time William couldn’t tell if he felt anything, or if even one thought went through his head. It was disconcerting.
“I thought I’d ride out in another day or two,” he mentioned as they all headed for the door.
He felt George’s stare on the back of his head, but he didn’t look at the other man. “You’re free to go any time you want, Will. I’m still not thinking it’s a grand idea.”
“I can’t stay here forever, George,” he said as they stepped inside. “I still have to find him.”
George shook his head. “One day you’ll realize there are better things than revenge.”
“I don’t want revenge. I want justice. He’ll never pay if I don’t bring him in. I can’t live with that.”
“If you try to go after him now, you won’t make it a day in the saddle. If you fall in the trail, I won’t be there to pick you up. You may not like who is.”
Maggie gasped, and he turned to face her. “You’re riding out, too, Will?”
His stomach clutched as he looked at her. Her knuckles whitened around the spoon she held in her hand. He wished he couldn’t see the distress in her eyes. “Soon,” he said. It didn’t matter. It couldn’t matter. “I have to find him. He’s gotten away for too long.”
“You’re not healed yet,” she protested.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

