Home of a mother, wife, writer

Sunday Summary: Derailed

This week was…not my typical week. Part of that was the kids having Monday and Tuesday off from school. The rest was…well, I’m not really sure what happened. I just had pretty much no motivation to do anything Thursday and Friday. So, I didn’t. Well, except for reading. I got a lot of that done. But, I’m hoping to get back on track starting tomorrow. I think I just needed to take a little break.

  • Ready When You AreWrite 100 minutes/2000 words – 100 minutes/1928 words. Got really close to the word goal.
  • Love Who You Love – Write 100 minutes/2000 words – 80 minutes/1280 words.
  • By the Gun – Write 100 minutes/2000 words – 80 minutes/1144 words.
  • Protecting the Heart – finish Declan’s backstory, start Eva’s – still working on Declan’s. I did a bit of free writing on his back story this weekend. Hopefully I will actually finish it this week.
  • Rylan & Kirstenfinish Rylan’s backstory, start Kirsten’s – finished Rylan’s and got some of Kirsten’s done, though I haven’t made more progress since Wednesday.
  • Stained Snowfinish Polishing, final read through – finished polishing and read through Chapter 8. Also revealed the cover for this on Friday.
  • Come Back Down – write 40 minutes/1000 words – Not completely sure of time, but wrote 889 words on it this weekend.
  • Read: She Sat He Stood – 75% – made it to this point
  • Read: Sins of the Warrior(Linda Poitevin), Double Play(Jill Shalvis), The Darkest Flame(Christina Lee), Carry On(Rainbow Rowell), Against the Storm(Kat Martin), Craving Flight(Tamsen Parker), Brash(Nicola Marsh), & Verum(Courtney Cole) – finished all of these but Verum. I started it last night but just couldn’t get into it. Usually I’ll push through for a second book in a series, but I set it aside instead.
  • Knit: Zig Zag Ribbed Scarf – finished this. wp-1455725888008.jpg
  • Crochet: Leaping Stripes and Blocks Blanket(finally got the yarn I need to finish this) – made some progress on this. About halfway through it now.
  • A-Z Challenge – plan through G post – didn’t work on any of these yet.

I did make some progress this week, even if it wasn’t as much as I’d like.

Just because I managed to snap the 2 seconds he wasn't jumping all over the older dog.

Just because I managed to snap the 2 seconds he wasn’t jumping all over the older dog.

Goals for next week:

  • Ready When You Are – 100 minutes/2000 words
  • Love Who You Love – 100 minutes/2000 words
  • By the Gun – 100 minutes/2000 words
  • Protecting the Heart – finish Declan’s backstory, start Eva’s
  • Rylan & Kirsten – finish Kirsten’s backstory, start Kenny’s
  • Stained Snow – finish read through, format, upload to Amazon(HAVE to have this done by 3/1)
  • Come Back Down – write 60 minutes/1000 words
  • Read: She Sat He Stood – 100%
  • Read: Flirting with Scandal(Chanel Cleeton), Unscrupulous(Avery Aster), Extraction(Stephanie Diaz), Full Position(Mari Carr), Midnight Thief(Livia Blackburne), Slow Ride(Cathryn Fox), & Fall for a Seal(Zoe York)
  • Crochet: Leaping Stripes and Blocks Blanket
  • A-Z Challenge – Plan posts(just going to work on these as I finish everything else)
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Derailed" (13)

  1. Kat Morrisey said:

    I still have to figure out my A-Z challenge theme. Gah! I forgot! Guess I’ll be adding that to the list this week! 🙂

    I totally get just needing a break, and even with the one you took you still got a ton of stuff done! Great job!

    You should have an email sometime this week, by the way! I’ll give you a heads up on twitter when I send it! 😀

  2. I think you did awesome on your goals. Doesn’t look like you took too much of a break, considering your list of goals. Keep at it. There’s always next week.

  3. Sometimes those mini-breaks are just what we need. I spent two nights this week reading Enterprise fan fiction (last night’s was REALLY good, a Malcolm gets lost story, and it’s not finished yet, so I’ll get sucked into it again as soon as more chapters are up).

    But reading these stories fuels me for my own, and since I’m revising three, plotting 26, and then revising 26 more…it IS research. With some serious planning going on and a book to get out, I’m guessing reading is doing the same thing for you. And, when we each get back to the writing side of things…well, I’ve had a couple of 13K days, and quite a few 8K ones, and I know you’ve had some pretty amazing word counts, too.

    And Stained Snow is a wonderful and beautifully written story – no pressure, but I can’t wait to get my preordered copy and see the end result!

    As for A-Z, I made a decision this week that, paradoxically, puts me both ahead and further behind at the same time. The story sketches I wrote to explore ideas will be revised and make the posts – but I’m plotting longer stories than I want to share on my blog, so I’ve got this (probably completely crazy!) idea that I’ll expand each into a longer story, revise it, and post it at fanfiction.net. Now, I know I can write the stories, but I want to link the longer stories in my A-Z post, which means having each one finished and posted before the day the sketch goes up…and that means considerably more work than I thought I might be going to do. Added to the other revision projects I’ve got going on, and planning and plotting for CampNaNo using an entirely new method…I may have once again taken on a giant platter of projects…

    Here’s to all of us who thrive on rather insane numbers of goals! =D

    • Yeah, I do think it helped. Words were flowing rather steadily this morning, so that’s good.
      I did get some of my A-Z posts planned last night. Though a couple of them were “I could write about this or maybe that. ” I’ll figure them out.

      • I started my A-Z planning in May, with a word for each letter. Yup, just one word. It’s grown from there, although I’d hoped to get a lot further than I am.

        We’ll both get there.

  4. You still did very well. Sometimes we need breaks and don’t even realize it. 🙂 Good luck on your goals this week.

  5. You got a ton done, if you ask me, whether you felt inspired or not 🙂 Funny how that works.

  6. I’m betting you’ll be checking in tomorrow and most likely with steady progress. Just wanted to say I hope the rest of the week goes well for you, that you really do feel good about your amazing progress. I see such discipline in how you organize (and generate words) on all those projects. Won’t say it’s like knitting, but stitch by stitch, those stories grow!

    • We’ve been doing a fair bit of running around this week, so I’ve barely been keeping up. But still making progress. Sometimes it’s hard to keep an eye on what’s getting done instead of what hasn’t. And I tend to be rather hard on myself. Not always a positive trait.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

