Home of a mother, wife, writer

Last week, I forgot to check in to see what the Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt was. This week, I did better. Following now(terrible about remembering to hit the follow button, especially when wordpress keeps changing things around)), so I won’t have that problem again. 😉

Anyway, if you’ve read some of my RoW80 posts recently, you know I’m plotting out 2 different stories. Right now, that means working on back stories. And, for some reason when I saw today’s prompt of “tire”, one of those characters popped into my head. Declan was first introduced in Guarding the Heart, and now he’s getting his own story. He’s also very talkative. I’ve already written two pages, and he’s not even ten years old. He spent most of the first page telling me how his parents met, apparently a story he’d been told many times before. Now, we’re on to how they tried to balance between his mom living in Texas and his dad in Ireland. And there are reasons one couldn’t just move to the other(though they tried that for a time. And I’ll be getting to how Declan got tired of feeling like he never had one place to call home.

My back stories usually range from one page to a dozen(I think only one’s been that long. And it was a character trying to rationalize all his awful behavior and how everything was someone else’s fault). I’m thinking Declan’s will be on the longer end of this range. It was mentioned in Guarding the Heart that he was the most talkative of their group. Unlike Casey(the main character in that one), who’d rather act than talk.

I had planned to write a little story from his back story rather than this. But, I guess I’ll save that one for another time maybe. In fact, you’ll be able to see more of him(and other members of the BC Security team) around here in April.

Comments on: "Stream Of Consciousness Saturday – Tire" (2)

  1. I do love it when my characters tell me their stories. 🙂 Nice post! Thanks for following… again. 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

