Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: “Sight Closer”

Welcome back to another installment of Weekend Writing Warriors. I’m still sharing from Come Back Down. I’m nearing 20k on the first draft of this. So, if I’m planning on keeping it as a novella, I should probably start to think about wrapping it up, I guess. Into the Sun was right around 30k. This is easier when I actually have a story planned out. But, that’s also what I like with these ones, figuring it out as I go. Anyway, here’s another 10 sentences, skipping over a paragraph after last week’s.

   ”Birdie, Trace,” Icarus called from behind us, “come here.”
I was still trembling, but Trace turned me, and we started walking toward Icarus. His face was set in hard lines. It had been a long time since I’d seen him so angry, but he wasn’t one prone to outbursts. Once we were beside him, he turned his gaze on Brad.
“I believe I’ve told you before not to come within 100 feet of my daughter. You’re a damn sight closer now.”
Brad just smirked. “We’re in a public place. You have no control over where I go.”

Definitely some history, and bad blood, there. But, what exactly happened? And what will happen now? I’ll be sharing more from this scene, probably for the rest of this month at least. So, you may get some clues.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Sight Closer”" (9)

  1. Just makes you wanna wipe the smirk right into yesterday! Nicely done, Fallon!

  2. Good conflict! Definitely a clash going on. Nice job, Fallon. 🙂

  3. Interesting, glad you’re going to share more of this scene with us because I’m intrigued and invested. Great excerpt to start the reader asking questions about what next!

  4. Brad is asking for trouble, I think. From his words, I picture him as a heedless teenager or a bit older.

  5. […] hop for everyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Come Back Down, picking up where last week’s left […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

