Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back for another installment of Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Come Back Down. Today’s 10 sentences come a few paragraphs down from last week’s snippet.

   ”We should probably be getting back, Birdie,” Trace said. He never used my real name, which is what I preferred. Brad had refused to call me Birdie. I’d thought he was trying to show respect at the time, by using my real name.
Turned out he thought he could use it to control me.
“Right, nice seeing you, Brad.” Not really. “But, we have things to do.”
I had just turned away when Brad called out, “So, I see your dad changed his stance on new recruits spending time with you. Or was that just me he had that rule about?”

How is she going to respond to this? And what exactly is Brad after, right now. Hang on another week. You might find out.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Was That Just Me”" (8)

  1. Whatever Brad is after, he’s up to no good. That’s usually the way it goes with guys who try to control you.

  2. Brad is definitely bad news!
    Love your dialogue Fallon.

  3. Such a small thing- the name- yet it says a lot about each guy.

  4. Uh oh, I sense a serious new wrinkle in the plot here. Brad does not seem to be a nice guy. Great snippet, left me with many questions inagooday.

  5. […] Welcome back to another installment of Weekend Writing Warriors. I’m still sharing from Come Back Down. I’m nearing 20k on the first draft of this. So, if I’m planning on keeping it as a novella, I should probably start to think about wrapping it up, I guess. Into the Sun was right around 30k. This is easier when I actually have a story planned out. But, that’s also what I like with these ones, figuring it out as I go. Anyway, here’s another 10 sentences, skipping over a paragraph after last week’s. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

